3-Phase 208 to Single Phase

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-04-19, 11:01 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,947
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
3-Phase 208 to Single Phase

I have a piece of equipment that requires single phase 208V, but we do not currently have a 208 1 ph circuit available. However, there is a nearby 208V 3-phase outlet. Is there a safe way to adapt from a 3-phase outlet to a single phase 208 outlet? E.g. use a plug/cord that takes two adjacent phases to get the 208V and the third would be ground? The equipment connector is an IEC C14 outlet (like a computer power supply).
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-04-19, 12:24 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,947
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I found a place that sells a power cord with an L15-30P plug on one end and C13 on the other, which is what we need. I'm assuming that since this is something available for purchase, that it is a legitimate way to connect things. The 30A rate plug to 14 AWG cord concerns me though.
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-19, 02:46 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,301
Received 133 Votes on 117 Posts
I would not worry about the cord as long and the load of the equipment does not exceed the rating of the cord. It would be similar to using a smaller cord on the appliance circuit in a house. That toaster does not have #12 in the cord.

Could you post a link for this cord? I'm interested in seeing this unicorn.
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-19, 04:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,391
Received 747 Votes on 702 Posts
Never seen an L15-30P cable. I've seen L5-30P cables.

lockingpowercords.com/products/107-l5-30-to-c13-power-cord.aspx
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-19, 08:43 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,947
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
This is the cable. L15-30P to C13...
https://www.pduwhips.com/products/2337-l15-30p-to-c13-splitter-cords.aspx
 
  #6  
Old 02-05-19, 04:51 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,947
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Wrong link. This is the one: https://www.pduwhips.com/products/2333-l15-30-to-c13-power-cord.aspx
 
  #7  
Old 02-05-19, 06:04 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,926
Received 51 Votes on 49 Posts
You can make an adapter cord that has a female receptacle end that the equipment plug fits and has a male plug that fits into a 3 phase wall receptacle of the same amperage. (For a single phase 208 volt or 240 volt adapter one of the power prongs of the male plug would have nothing connected to it.)

If the only wall receptacle is of a greater amperage then you can still make an adapter cord but the adapter cord must have a box in the middle with a fuse or breaker that matched the female end. Such an adapter is technically a portable subpanel. (You could call it a wall wart cord if the box were at the male end or call it a power strip if the box were at the female end.)

Prongs and prong slots may not be repurposed. You may not use a 3 phase ungrounded plug or receptacle with one of the 3 power prongs or slots as a ground-only connection.
 
  #8  
Old 02-05-19, 07:22 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,947
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
but the adapter cord must have a box in the middle with a fuse or breaker that matched the female end. Such an adapter is technically a portable subpanel.
Is this something available on the market, or would it need to be custom made?
 
  #9  
Old 02-05-19, 04:51 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,301
Received 133 Votes on 117 Posts
I see nothing wrong using the adapter cord you posted in link #6. I do not feel you need any other overcurrent protection for the reasons I have already stated. Again, just make sure you do not exceed the rating of the cord.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: