Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Tips on getting pre-stripped romex through cable clamp on Arlington One Box?

Tips on getting pre-stripped romex through cable clamp on Arlington One Box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-11-19, 10:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Tips on getting pre-stripped romex through cable clamp on Arlington One Box?

Hey everyone,

When using an Arlington One Box on old work, are there any tricks to easily getting the pre-stripped wires pulled through the circular plastic clamp that pops into the knockout? I always have a heck of a time getting it through so the wire sheathing doesn't catch/snag on the opening where you push it through. Come to think of it, I always have this problem no matter the old-work box, so any tips are appreciated!

Does it help to tape the end of the sheathing down so it's smoother to pull through?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-11-19, 11:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 980
I don't strip the jacket off until after the cable is pulled into the box.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-19, 11:56 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 44,639
Ya, I learned along time ago to wait until the cable is in the box before I stripped the wires. If the wires are already stripped you'll have to fight it or tape it up.
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-19, 12:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Yeah, when it's new wire, I don't strip the wires in advance. My question is regarding old work, or existing wires that have been stripped and were previously used in another electrical box that I'm replacing.
 
  #5  
Old 02-11-19, 04:12 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,693
Spread the grip slightly with a flat blade screwdriver
 
  #6  
Old 02-11-19, 04:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,230
Is there still a rule that you can break out those tabs as long as it is a single box and cable is stapled within 8" of the box?
 
  #7  
Old 02-11-19, 05:17 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,693
Single gang new work box tabs are made to be broken out. The cable needs to be secured within 8" .
 
  #8  
Old 02-12-19, 09:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Thanks for the tips, everyone. Also, do the home improvement stores sell any better cable connectors/clamps that would snap into the One Box?
 
  #9  
Old 02-12-19, 09:56 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,693
Any connector should work. The size is standard.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes