Wiring pump

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-20-19, 10:11 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring pump

What is the safest way an up to code[if allowed] to run power to a 2plug outside sump pump off detatched garage ?

Its in a HUGE 6ft wide drywell rock pit an is about 25 ft from detached garage outlet that is off a 20 amp 12/2 circuit. .
There will be about 10-15 ft wide open area subject to weather.

I wasnt sure if being in a directly open outside area with a huge area of rock that gets extreme water at times would have a truly safe option with so much moisture .
UF-B type maybe ?
Theres a GFCI in the detatched garage also.
Any info is appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 02-20-19, 10:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Not quite visualizing the entire setup.....

Being in a wet area isn't a problem. I'm guessing the pump would plug into a standard receptacle. You'd need to make sure that receptacle had an in-use cover on it. The wiring method you use needs to protect the wiring itself from damage.

Are you planning on putting the wiring underground ? Some type of conduit would be good. Laying UF cable on the surface wouldn't be acceptable.
 
  #3  
Old 02-21-19, 09:43 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a pic of how its set up .
The plug on the pump cant reach the outlet nor is there a secure point at the distance that it reaches..
the shed has outlet beside garage,on inside of shed .

Rock pit is very deep an wide.

This gets TONS of water but survived a 1000yr flood in 2010 .
Rock pit removes water fast but i want a pump along with it for weeks like this .

Name:  rs1.jpg
Views: 102
Size:  48.5 KB

Name:  rs2.jpg
Views: 104
Size:  159.0 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 02-21-19 at 04:49 PM. Reason: reoriented/resized pics
  #4  
Old 02-21-19, 11:31 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
I would set a 4x4 post just outside the edge of the pit so that it's about 12-18" above grade. Mount an outdoor "bell" box on the post, come out of the bottom of that box with 1/2" PVC conduit down to the bottom of a trench that is at least 12" deep. You can either run 12-2 UF-B cable naked in the trench back to the garage or use THWN wires and continue the conduit for the whole run. At the garage, do the reverse, 1/2" PVC conduit from the bottom of the trench up the building wall to either an LB fitting or another bell box to transition the wiring into the building.

At the post you'll need to use a WR (weather resistant) receptacle and an in-use plastic bubble cover.
 
  #5  
Old 02-21-19, 12:03 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,513
Received 124 Votes on 98 Posts
Be aware to only bury 12" it can't be more than 120V 20A and has to have GFCI protection at the source (back at the garage).
 
  #6  
Old 02-21-19, 01:08 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can i direct wire it ,doing away with plug ends ,an run in sch40 pipe on a stake to back of shed an wire to outlet that has independant switch on it..
Yes its gfci protected.
 
  #7  
Old 02-21-19, 04:43 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I saw that plugs at the end of pump were set up where one has recepticle in back to plug 2 into 1,or piggy back.
When i cut wiring the primary motor wiring had all 3 wires but the 2nd wire to float only had 2 wires - was it ok to connect up both hots an neutrals to incoming hot an neutral wire ,an ground to the 1 ground ?...
i used schedule 40 pipe to inside of shed,an had some spair underground type 12/2 i ran inside pipe to pump wiring , an put a plug in end on side inside shed . - is that ok ,or should it be direct wired?
 
  #8  
Old 02-21-19, 05:16 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Hot from pump to one hot on float. Other float hot to hot from shed.

Note cutting the plug off was probably a code violation.
 
  #9  
Old 02-21-19, 05:52 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yea as i read more it looks like the switch is set up like this on plugs so as to turn on an off pump .
Is that correct?
"Piggy back plugged " see pic

I hope this didnt cause a issue having them both direct wired .
Ill need to disconnect them .
Pump isnt new or under warranty..
Problem is it pouring out now an next 2 days all rain.
 
Attached Images  
  #10  
Old 02-21-19, 06:41 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
I'd make this as simple as possible and just use an Arlington Gard N Post for the receptacle.


https://www.amazon.com/Gard-N-Post-L...ag=googhydr-20


Arlington makes all types.


http://www.aifittings.com/catalog/gard-n-post/
 
  #11  
Old 02-22-19, 10:02 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its working now! THANKS!
This is a temporary set up for now !
i rewired the piggyback wires back to pump -for now an ran a outside protected outlet to it with pipe...

Outsid outlet supported by sch 40pipe for now.
I reset gfci to test it -all good ,never tripped.

Later ill fine tune it all..just wanted to get it wired an protect circuit for next 48hours ! 5 plus more inches to come on top of all this weeks high waters!
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by trotter0123; 02-22-19 at 10:19 AM.
  #12  
Old 02-22-19, 04:03 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
This is a temporary set up for now !
i rewired the piggyback wires back to pump -for now an ran a outside protected outlet to it with pipe...

Outsid outlet supported by sch 40pipe for now.

I hope the pipe in the picture is for discharge water from the pumps because you cannot run wiring through pipe. If you did, it needs to be replaced with conduit after the rains.
 
  #13  
Old 02-22-19, 06:53 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Of coarse it is.
I said I used schedule 40 Grey pipe for wiring.
-that in pic is white pvc plumbing pipe
 
  #14  
Old 02-23-19, 08:24 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
Pipe is for plumbing...........conduit is for wiring.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: