Floating Neutrals

Old 02-22-19, 08:23 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Floating Neutrals

I'm in the process of renovating my very first restaurant.

A background of my experience (at least for the electrical aspect), I have installed full Lutron Lighting systems from Radio Ra2 where you replace individual light switches/dimmers, to Lutron Homeworks Panels. I've also installed/retrofit new electrical outlets and I've added new breakers into panels (though never replaced a breaker panel from scratch).

Most of my electrical work, since I'm not a Journeyman Electrician, and am more focused on the Audio/Video/Programming side, has been residential grade with an occasional retrofit to add an Electrical Outlet for a TV on a wall in a commercial building.

My current project has a 600 amp, 3 phase, 4 wire Main with 3-200 amp 4 wire panels, 1-60 amp 4 wire panel, and 1-100 amp 4 wire sub panel.

My question is; in Southern California, where codes are extremely strict, what are the guidelines on sharing a neutral between more than one breaker on the same panel in a 110 application? I have multiple locations that have 3-5 circuits and only a couple of neutrals in the conduit. From my understanding, floating a neutral on a 3 phase panel can cause voltage issues on the neutral if both circuits aren't balanced with each other, and one shorts to neutral, thus causing damage, or a fire in the other side of the circuit. That said, even if I balance the loads properly, this is a Restaurant. I may be running a Coffee Machine at one moment, a Toaster another, and there is no guarantee that both will be running simultaneously when a short occurs.