Wiring legrand WiFi switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-03-19, 04:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring legrand WiFi switch

Hello, I am trying to wire up a few legrand WiFi switches. The slave switch calls for a hot and a load. Normally that would be black and white, but the switch Iím looking to replace has 2 black, ones the common and a red wire. Should I hook both blacks as the hot and run the red as the load wire? Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-03-19, 04:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,149
Received 474 Votes on 444 Posts
Pictures of your wiring are very helpful...... How-to-insert-pictures.

With those three wires you are describing a 3way circuit. Are there two switches ?
Those wifi switches...... especially with a slave..... are not plug and play. They usually require wiring changes at both ends. A link to them or a model number would be helpful too.
 
  #3  
Old 03-03-19, 04:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The slave model number is ASTHRRW. There are 2 switches. The second switch had 2 blacks a red and a white wire. Thank you
 
  #4  
Old 03-03-19, 04:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,149
Received 474 Votes on 444 Posts
Switch 1 has 2 black wires and one red wire. The black wire on the common must be marked. The other two...... red and black are travelers.

The second switch had 2 blacks a red and a white wire
Four wires attached to one switch ??
How many screw terminals on the switch ?
 
  #5  
Old 03-03-19, 04:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, I wire the black to the hot and the other 2 to my load terminal? The master switch has two spots for white wire, 2 spots for hot and 2 for load. Thank you.
 
  #6  
Old 03-03-19, 04:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,149
Received 474 Votes on 444 Posts
I cannot help you unless you answer the questions I ask.

I'm assuming this is a three way light circuit. That means two switches control the same light.
The existing wiring connections may need to be changed to match the new switch(es).
You left a slave model number that I can't find listed.
 
  #7  
Old 03-03-19, 04:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What question did I not answer? Here is a link to the slave https://www.legrand.us/adorne/produc.../asthrrw1.aspx I was wrong about the terminals on the slave, it hot and white the load side has no terminals.
 
  #8  
Old 03-03-19, 04:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,149
Received 474 Votes on 444 Posts
That is a remote wifi switch that gets paired with an existing legrand wifi switch.
Are you running an adorne hub there? It looks to be required.

Installation instructions (pdf)
 
  #9  
Old 03-03-19, 05:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am using the hub and I am pairing it with a master switch.
 
  #10  
Old 03-03-19, 09:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,149
Received 474 Votes on 444 Posts
Ok. Then that slave switch just needs 120v to operate.

Since you have the master switch in place...... can we assume that the switch where the slave is going does not affect the lights ?

If that switch does still control the lights then you need to confirm if that common wire is always live. If it is...... it can be combined with one of the two traveler wires to keep the master in line. The extra traveler gets capped off and you'll need to locate neutral inside the box.

Without pictures of both ends.... this is about all I can add.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: