Running NM cable in furred out residential walls

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-05-19, 12:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running NM cable in furred out residential walls

I am remodeling my home in Pennsylvania. It is a rowhome, with concrete block party walls. The walls are all open at this point. I will be leaving the original furring strips in place and installing new drywall once the project is complete.

My question is about running NM cable down from the upper floors to the service panel in the basement. I have secured the NM cable to the concrete block every 4 feet vertically. Is this OK? Does the cable have to be metallic, or in a conduit of some sort? It will not be penetrating the block at any point, just straight vertical homeruns.

Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-06-19, 05:33 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
How deep are the furing strips off the block?
 
  #3  
Old 03-06-19, 05:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1 by, so 3/4". With 1/2" drywall to hopefully give me the 1-1/4" clearance from nails and whatnot.
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-19, 06:25 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
How were the electric boxes done before? You really need more than that for most electric boxes. I'd go with 2x2s (actual 1x1). (Guessing a bit. What is so 3/4"?)
 
  #5  
Old 03-06-19, 08:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The boxes were originally placed in cutouts, where the block was chipped away. I'm not sure how many cubic inches they are, but they're not shallow by any means.
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-19, 02:50 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,919
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Run the cables at least 1 1/4" off to the side of furring strips.
 
  #7  
Old 03-06-19, 03:29 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 55 Votes on 48 Posts
Add to the furring strips. 3/4" is not enough room for your device boxes. Even handy boxes will be too small.
 
  #8  
Old 03-07-19, 05:31 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,982
Received 16 Votes on 16 Posts
Hi, are the outlet fed now, how was that done?
Geo
 
  #9  
Old 03-07-19, 06:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The outlets were fed by older NM cable, kind of a silver braided cover. Those old, probably original from the 70s cables, didn't even looked to be secured vertically in the walls. My only concern is if code allows me to secure the NM cable directly to the block, as opposed to needed to go armored or conduit. It won't be exposed anywhere, except possibly at the termination point where they enter the breaker box in the basement.
 
  #10  
Old 03-07-19, 07:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,699
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
no problem securing to block. The 3/4" gap however is a problem. When going through a stud you require 1-1/4" gap to prevent damage. I'm not sure how that applies to drywall gap between studs.
 
  #11  
Old 03-07-19, 01:03 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,919
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Here are some graphics to help from Mike Holt's site.

https://www.google.com/search?q=mike...C3B1W4RO6YRTM:
 
  #12  
Old 03-07-19, 01:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,892
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
When going through a stud you require 1-1/4" gap to prevent damage.
Sounds like he won't be running wires through the furring strips.

just straight vertical homeruns
 
  #13  
Old 03-07-19, 02:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,699
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
Sounds like he won't be running wires through the furring strips.
I realize that, but is the 3/4 gap behind the drywall OK. If the cables were being fished I think it might be OK but the drywall is not up yet so the cables need fastening every 4 feet.
 
  #14  
Old 03-07-19, 04:05 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The fact that such small furring strips were used doesn't mean it was the best choice. The wall is open why not do it better.
 
  #15  
Old 03-11-19, 12:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,892
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I realize that, but is the 3/4 gap behind the drywall OK. If the cables were being fished I think it might be OK but the drywall is not up yet so the cables need fastening every 4 feet.
I misinterpreted your post. My apologies.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: