Running NM cable in furred out residential walls

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-05-19, 01:29 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running NM cable in furred out residential walls

I am remodeling my home in Pennsylvania. It is a rowhome, with concrete block party walls. The walls are all open at this point. I will be leaving the original furring strips in place and installing new drywall once the project is complete.

My question is about running NM cable down from the upper floors to the service panel in the basement. I have secured the NM cable to the concrete block every 4 feet vertically. Is this OK? Does the cable have to be metallic, or in a conduit of some sort? It will not be penetrating the block at any point, just straight vertical homeruns.

Thanks in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 03-06-19, 06:33 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
How deep are the furing strips off the block?
 
  #3  
Old 03-06-19, 06:59 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1 by, so 3/4". With 1/2" drywall to hopefully give me the 1-1/4" clearance from nails and whatnot.
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-19, 07:25 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
How were the electric boxes done before? You really need more than that for most electric boxes. I'd go with 2x2s (actual 1x1). (Guessing a bit. What is so 3/4"?)
 
  #5  
Old 03-06-19, 09:31 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The boxes were originally placed in cutouts, where the block was chipped away. I'm not sure how many cubic inches they are, but they're not shallow by any means.
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-19, 03:50 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Run the cables at least 1 1/4" off to the side of furring strips.
 
  #7  
Old 03-06-19, 04:29 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,794
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
Add to the furring strips. 3/4" is not enough room for your device boxes. Even handy boxes will be too small.
 
  #8  
Old 03-07-19, 06:31 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,952
Received 87 Votes on 82 Posts
Hi, are the outlet fed now, how was that done?
Geo
 
  #9  
Old 03-07-19, 07:08 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The outlets were fed by older NM cable, kind of a silver braided cover. Those old, probably original from the 70s cables, didn't even looked to be secured vertically in the walls. My only concern is if code allows me to secure the NM cable directly to the block, as opposed to needed to go armored or conduit. It won't be exposed anywhere, except possibly at the termination point where they enter the breaker box in the basement.
 
  #10  
Old 03-07-19, 08:30 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,717
Received 294 Votes on 253 Posts
no problem securing to block. The 3/4" gap however is a problem. When going through a stud you require 1-1/4" gap to prevent damage. I'm not sure how that applies to drywall gap between studs.
 
  #11  
Old 03-07-19, 02:03 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Here are some graphics to help from Mike Holt's site.

https://www.google.com/search?q=mike...C3B1W4RO6YRTM:
 
  #12  
Old 03-07-19, 02:52 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,031
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
When going through a stud you require 1-1/4" gap to prevent damage.
Sounds like he won't be running wires through the furring strips.

just straight vertical homeruns
 
  #13  
Old 03-07-19, 03:38 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,717
Received 294 Votes on 253 Posts
Sounds like he won't be running wires through the furring strips.
I realize that, but is the 3/4 gap behind the drywall OK. If the cables were being fished I think it might be OK but the drywall is not up yet so the cables need fastening every 4 feet.
 
  #14  
Old 03-07-19, 05:05 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The fact that such small furring strips were used doesn't mean it was the best choice. The wall is open why not do it better.
 
  #15  
Old 03-11-19, 01:53 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,031
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I realize that, but is the 3/4 gap behind the drywall OK. If the cables were being fished I think it might be OK but the drywall is not up yet so the cables need fastening every 4 feet.
I misinterpreted your post. My apologies.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: