GFI keeps tripping: complicated wiring.

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-21-19, 11:52 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFI keeps tripping: complicated wiring.

I recently added a fan to my garage and while I was at it, replaced and regular outlet with a GFI.

Due to the location of the outlet and the height of my ceilings, I was required to add an additional outlet near the ceiling where the fan would be installed. Also, due to the height of the fan, I would be running it through a switch so I could turn it on/off from the floor.

I completed the wiring as follows:

Feed comes into the box and into a pigtail..
-pigtail goes out to feed additional outlets originally installed in the garage,
-pigtail also feeds GFI outlet at floor level,

-using the second set of contacts on the GFI, im feeding the switch...which then goes on to feed the ceiling height outlet that powers the fan.

The issue is that the GFI continuously trips itself and won't stay reset. However the switch/fan as well as the rest of the outlets in the garage maintain power.

Not sure what I've done wrong. If the GFI is tripped, shouldn't the switch and fan also lose power? Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.
 

Last edited by KC-DIY; 03-22-19 at 12:08 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-22-19, 01:14 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
It would be helpful if you expanded o .your wiring connection descriptions. What is connected to the line and load terminals?
 
  #3  
Old 03-22-19, 05:14 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 1,733
Received 81 Votes on 72 Posts
Sounds like you have the line and load connections on the GFCI reversed. Why are you plugging the fan into a switched outlet? Why not run the power cable from the switch directly to the fan.
 
  #4  
Old 03-22-19, 05:15 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,474
Received 597 Votes on 551 Posts
If you wish to GFCI protect your new switch and fan it sounds like you did not wire up your GFCI correctly. You can connect to it protected or not protected. Most often the protected contacts are underneath a strip of yellow tape on the back of the GFCI that is well labeled.
 
  #5  
Old 03-22-19, 05:53 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,749
Received 67 Votes on 63 Posts
Hi, are you sure the line and load on the GFCI are connected correctly?
Geo
 
  #6  
Old 03-22-19, 09:46 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will double check the line/load and maybe take a few pictures. I wired the switch to the outlet because the fan was pre wired with a plug, just seemed easier to do it that way.
 
  #7  
Old 03-22-19, 12:06 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, my original memory of how I had it wired was wrong...below is a diagram of how its wired. Along with a couple pictures of the box.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/GeXkth1ajiHaeLJ16
https://photos.app.goo.gl/jB4mZjd3iV3Fmh3L7
https://photos.app.goo.gl/rA7PVJsxcG7KfW6i6

Thanks!
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by ray2047; 03-22-19 at 12:41 PM. Reason: Add image.
  #8  
Old 03-22-19, 02:11 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,525
Received 236 Votes on 207 Posts
If that is how you wired it then it should work. You must have a fault on the line somewhere.
 
  #9  
Old 03-22-19, 02:30 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
the switch should not have a neutral.
 
  #10  
Old 03-22-19, 03:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,559
Received 1,039 Votes on 963 Posts
The issue is that the GFI continuously trips itself and won't stay reset. However the switch/fan as well as the rest of the outlets in the garage maintain power.
Your diagram doesn't match what you said.
If the GFI trips.... the fan should be dead if you used the load connections.
 
  #11  
Old 03-22-19, 04:10 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, got carried away labeling hot and neutral on the boxes, there is no neutral on the switch...its just breaking the hot.

Yeah PJmax, my memory failed me when I tried remembering how I had it wired from the first post. How I have it drawn on the diagram is exactly how it is wired. GFI is tripping itself, but all the other outlets as well as the fan are still being fed electricity.
 
  #12  
Old 03-22-19, 04:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,559
Received 1,039 Votes on 963 Posts
Here's the problem..... when a GFI trips..... there is no power being fed out of the load connections.
Anything connected to the load side is dead when the GFI is tripped.
 
  #13  
Old 03-22-19, 04:20 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,525
Received 236 Votes on 207 Posts
GFI is tripping itself, but all the other outlets as well as the fan are still being fed electricity.
This statement contradicts your drawing. When a GFCI trips the LOAD terminals go dead. Either you have a faulty GFCI or it is not wired as pictured.
When the GFCI trips are GFCI plugs ports dead?
 
  #14  
Old 03-22-19, 06:04 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yea, I understand that the outlets and fan should not be working with thr GFI tripped...but thats exactly whats going on. Also, the wiring diagram that I posted is exactly how its wired. So maybe it is a faulty GFI that is causing the problem. I could take a video of the fan running, while I continually reset the GFI....thats whats happening. Yes, the plugs on the GFI itself go dead....but nothing else.

Guess I'll grab a new GFI, rewire it and see if the problem persists.

Thanks for the information so far.
 
  #15  
Old 03-23-19, 04:58 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,605
Received 204 Votes on 181 Posts
That wiremold box can be a bit small for all the devices and wires. You may have had a ground touching a neutral screw/wire which will trip a GFCI. Test it with the devices hanging out and see if anything changes.
 
  #16  
Old 03-24-19, 04:54 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Done and same result. Thank you for the suggestion though.
 
  #17  
Old 04-27-19, 04:26 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replaced the GFI plug with a new one, working like a charm now. Thanks for thr suggestions.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: