Direct Burial cable have to be pvc once in building

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-04-19, 04:24 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile Direct Burial cable have to be pvc once in building

Upgrading to 100 amp service in Garage fed by 200 amp house circuit.I have buried 2 2 2 3 underground 18 inches with pvc 40. I am using direct burial cable.
Once I am in the garage under a roof is pvc required to panel?
Is it required in basement to 200 amp panel?
Can it be run hung correctly without pvc?

Thanks!
KYNETMAN
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-04-19, 04:52 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,463
Received 102 Votes on 81 Posts
I'm not aware of any direct bury cable that comes in 2-2-2-3. If it is individual conductors without an overall jacket it must be in conduit. Will you please post a picture of the cable or the stamped info written on the cable. If the #2 is aluminum then it's good to 90A. There is direct bury wire that can enter a structure and there is direct bury wire that is not to enter a structure. You need to know which one you have.
 

Last edited by pattenp; 04-04-19 at 05:08 PM.
  #3  
Old 04-04-19, 05:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,137
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm not aware of a 2-2-2-3 underground/direct burial cable either.
How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #4  
Old 04-05-19, 10:57 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2 2 2 4
Are there 90 amp breakers?
Will get back with pic later.
Thank You!
 
  #5  
Old 04-05-19, 11:09 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,463
Received 102 Votes on 81 Posts
Yes there are 90A breakers. If the 2-2-2-4 is URD it has to be terminated outside the structure. If it's Mobile Home Feeder (MHF) or specifically USE-2/RHH/RHW-2 then it can enter the structure. But either type needs to be in conduit where above ground.
 
  #6  
Old 04-05-19, 06:29 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,656
Received 86 Votes on 76 Posts
Are there 90 amp breakers?

I have never seen a 90 amp breaker at any home center, but supply houses will have them or can usually get them quickly.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: