Should this subpanel be replaced?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-08-19, 07:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Should this subpanel be replaced?

I just moved into a home. It has an heat pump for an outdoor inground pool. It has a 60amp 1 phase circuit running through a small sub panel outside. The bottom portion of the panel is rusting (have a picture but cant get upload to work). Does the panel box need to be replaced? Additional power is not needed so it wouldnt be an upgrade, just curious if replacing the can is prudent/necessary.
thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-08-19, 07:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,520
Received 506 Votes on 476 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

See if this helps..... How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-19, 11:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Picture attached

The rust doesn't go through the box, only superficial on the inside and a bit on the door the front panel
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by ray2047; 04-15-19 at 12:09 PM. Reason: Reduce size to rotate image.
  #4  
Old 04-15-19, 07:58 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,836
Received 41 Votes on 40 Posts
Technically, I'd say yes. The rusted through hole at the bottom is large enough to allow a screwdriver or similar metal object to be inserted... and bad things could happen.

In reality, I would open the box and check the connections and bus bar and see if there is any corrosion there. Corrosion on the conducting areas is typically more hazardous than rusting on the box.
 
  #5  
Old 04-15-19, 09:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,520
Received 506 Votes on 476 Posts
I agree. The bottom of that box is rusted thru because the water is running down inside the box. That needs to be investigated.
 
  #6  
Old 04-22-19, 06:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Zorfdt and Pjmax,
This is helpful. I removed the panel and noticed two things: 1) the box itself inst rusted, just the front panel and 2) there wasn't any obvious corrosion on the bus bar or any connections. Should have snapped a picture, but I didn't think about it at the time. Anyway, I'm probably going to replace the front panel and apply silicone around the conduit connection into the top of the box.
Thank you!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: