Crumbling insulated wire in old light fixture

Old 04-13-19, 02:26 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Crumbling insulated wire in old light fixture

Hey folks, this is my first time posting and I have little experience doing electrical work, so be nice! I went to change the vanity light in our bathroom today and pulled the old fixture off only to find a set of old wires with the fabric insulation tattered off and the rubber/vinyl/whatever underneath crumbling off in patches. I suspect this is from running too hot over the years. I've attached pictures of the setup including the bare spots where the wire's coating has come off.

There is a BX cable on the right coming in with 2 wires -- (1) a black wire that just wraps through into the BX cable on the left, and (2) a white wire that connects with a white wire from the BX cable on the left, and to which I presume the light fixture also ties in. The left BX cable also has a red wire, which I assume connects to the neutral on the fixture...? I pulled the old fixture off before observing how the wires connected - I know, rookie mistake.

I'm wondering three things:
  1. Am I right about connecting the light: positive to white BX, neutral to red BX
  2. Would it be an adequate repair to simply wrap the crumbly BX wire with a good vinyl tape like 3M Super 33+?
  3. Is it possible the rest of the BX in the house is a danger? The are are 3 circuits on BX and the rest on more modern romex, but those three must be the original three because the run most of the main floor and a few basement/outdoor auxiliary lights.
Pics attached. Thanks!

Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
Old 04-13-19, 02:53 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Am I right about connecting the light: positive to white BX, neutral to red BX
No. White (or gray) are usually neutral. Red is hot, usually switched, never a neutral.

Would it be an adequate repair to simply wrap the crumbly BX wire with a good vinyl tape like 3M Super 33+?