Return switched receptacle to constant power

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-14-19, 09:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 221
Return switched receptacle to constant power

Hello,

Iím in the process of installing wireless switches in our 3 bedrooms. The existing 3 way wall switches control receptacles.

Iíll be completing removing the wired 3 way switches. How to I make sure the receptacles are constantly powered after the switch removal?

Let me know if you need photos and if each room might be treated differently.

Iíd read that a first step is finding where the power is coming from...switch 1, switch 2, the receptacle?

Other than checking with a tester, are there visual clues as to where power is entering? I found some diagrams on another site, but there were 9 options!

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-14-19, 09:33 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,483
Other than checking with a tester
What kind of tester? A non contact tester can't be used.
 
  #3  
Old 04-14-19, 09:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 221
Hereís room one with switch one, switch 2 and receptacle.

Name:  tw1.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  16.2 KB

Name:  tw2.jpg
Views: 40
Size:  21.7 KB

Name:  tw3.jpg
Views: 35
Size:  14.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 04-14-19 at 12:01 PM. Reason: resized/labeled pictures
  #4  
Old 04-14-19, 12:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 49,435
Switch 1 is a dead end three way switch. That three wire cable goes from switch 1 to switch 2.
At switch 2 you have an additional two wire cable that goes to the receptacle.
Basically you have a three way switch loop.

At the receptacle just disconnect that two wire cable. The white of the cable is taped black in the picture. Replace the receptacle with the bridge not removed.
 
  #5  
Old 04-14-19, 12:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 221
So Iím removing the white taped wire and leaving the other white and black as is?
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by Aelk799; 04-14-19 at 12:56 PM. Reason: Added photo
  #6  
Old 04-14-19, 04:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 221
So I disconnect wire #5. Do I leave 4 and 6 attached? Do I need to disconnect the black wire that is part of #5 (presumably # 1 or #3) or can it stay bundled together as it is now? Thanks!
 
  #7  
Old 04-14-19, 04:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 49,435
You remove the white wire that was taped black. Find the black wire that is part of that cable with the white wire. It should go into the hot splice. Disconnect that. Now you'll have the two wire cable that goes to the switches as capped off. Looks like 3 and 5 are the two to be disconnected.
 
  #8  
Old 04-14-19, 05:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 221
Took 10 minutes and tried what you said. Removed the taped white wire and the corresponding black wire. Do I need to wire them together? I left them separate. Flipped the breaker on and thereís no power in any of the receptacles in that room.
 
  #9  
Old 04-14-19, 05:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 49,435
Hard to see from the picture. Is/was the white taped wire on the neutral/silver screw side of the receptacle ?
It shouldn't be. I see a white wire in the #2 splice. Theoretically that white wire should be the one that feeds the switch and the black of that cable should be the switched receptacle line.
 
  #10  
Old 04-14-19, 05:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 221
Yes, the taped white was on the neutral side, along with the other white wire. What should I do now? Were the taped white wire and corresponding black that I removed supposed to be joined together or left separate? Thanks again for your help.
 

Last edited by Aelk799; 04-14-19 at 05:38 PM. Reason: Spelling
  #11  
Old 04-14-19, 08:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 49,435
Not sure why they taped the white wire with black. Put the taped white wire back on the neutral side. Reconnect the black wire where it was originally. The white wire in the hot splice is the one that needs to be disconnected along with it's black wire which is probably on the receptacle.
 
  #12  
Old 04-15-19, 05:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 221
k I’ll try that. Thanks again.
 
Attached Images  
  #13  
Old 04-15-19, 05:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 221
Ok. Here’s where I’m at.

1. Put the taped white wire back on the neutral side
2. Reconnected the original black wire to the hot.
3. Disconnected the white wire in the splice. The corresponding black wire is the one that is attached to the hot side receptacle as described in point # 2 above.

Receptacles in the room have power, but this receptacle doesn’t.

I’m basically at the original setup except for the white wire being removed from the splice. See original photo in the earlier posts.
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by Aelk799; 04-15-19 at 06:03 AM.
  #14  
Old 04-15-19, 11:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 221
Can there be some re-wiring in either of the switch boxes to replicate the action of the switch, so that there is power in the receptacle?
 
  #15  
Old 04-15-19, 01:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 221
Got it working. Found where power was coming in and went from there.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes