Cloth wiring, dead switch replacement.

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-21-19, 03:31 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cloth wiring, dead switch replacement.

I would think this is fairly straight forward, I am living in an old house.
The wiring is cloth covered. (Owner knows, and is planing on getting the house re-wired for today's standards.)
A single pole switch connected to an outlet has gone bad and needs to be replaced. It doesn't look like it's daisy chained at that point, and the only things connected to the outlet is a lamp and alternating things. Those things include the following :
Chargers for cell phones, portable game systems, and holiday lights.

Do I need a specific type of switch for this, or can I get a cheap one?
Looking to buy one from Home Depot.

Thank you in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-21-19, 04:41 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,035
Received 72 Votes on 68 Posts
If it really just needs a replacement switch, any standard switch will work. I wouldn't get the cheapest ($0.89) version... get something half decent for 2 dollars. All are rated for 15/20A so you should be fine.

Though switches typically don't go bad completely. They do get finikey when they get old, but if it's completely not working, you may need to troubleshoot some more.
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-19, 06:34 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, I was planning on spending between two and five dollars after tax.
The switch didn't completely die, what's happening is that the switch needs to be pressed in when flipping it. I took a quick look at it, and it uses the old connector with hot on one side and neutral on the other.
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-19, 06:36 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,302
Received 180 Votes on 161 Posts
It's not hot and neutral. It's black and white. Not all whites are neutrals.
You have a switch loop.
 
  #5  
Old 04-22-19, 06:36 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok. Well I have a ticker, so I'm not worried about anything. I have replaced switches and outlets before.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: