Outside sub panel with solar

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-28-19, 11:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outside sub panel with solar

Newbie Here.....
Im looking to see what it would cost to set up an outside sub panel with 2-20 amp 220v breakers and a 20amp 120v breaker to run 2 circuits for solar panels with Enphase Micro Inverters and 1 circuit for couple of outside lights. The run would be 200 ft, so guessing 4 gauge aluminum with 60 amp breaker...would this be right and should I run 3 or 4 wires?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-28-19, 02:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,548
Received 409 Votes on 384 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Get a wiring diagram from the company you are buying from. I was looking at their products and they have wiring diagrams listed that show paralleling solar arrays and inverters. You'll need a model number for the products you are using.

You also need to explain fully what you are doing. I understand the two solar panel arrays and inverters but don't see how 200' of wire enters into the equation. The inverters may require copper wiring only which will need to be checked.
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-19, 04:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Needing a sub panel to tie in the 2 circuits to instead running 2 circuits 200 ft also I can have the sub panel and the 2 disconnects by the arrays. I have 10 panels on a circuit but wanting to move them to a better location is what im thinking about doing. I already have about 21 kw of solar running.
 
  #4  
Old 04-28-19, 04:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
With Enphase micro inverters you have a string of up to 17 inverters each one for 1 panel, so 1 circuit you have up to 17 inverters and 17 panels all to one string.
 
  #5  
Old 05-03-19, 01:15 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I understand your question correctly you can price it by finding an appropriate box (outdoor rated, with enough spaces and circuits for your needs). It doesn't need a main breaker since it is simply a sub-panel. Then determine the cost of the breakers required and the wire. The breakers and wire need to be sized appropriately of course and be sure to use wire that is correctly rated for its use. It will need waterproof insulation since it is outside but type will depend on whether it is buried and/or in conduit.

You need 4 wires. If you only had 240V circuits you might be able to get away with 3 wires but with a 120/240 mix it will certainly be 4. The ground and possibly neutral wires may not need to be the same gauge as the 2 hot wires but I'm not an electrician so I can't really answer that. If you get some sort of UF cable it will probably have appropriately sized ground and neutral wires installed.

Don't forget to include the cost of any required trenching...
 

Last edited by goldbrick; 05-03-19 at 02:21 PM. Reason: add comment about trenching
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: