Problem with 3 phase electric motor?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-28-19, 02:14 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problem with 3 phase electric motor?

Hi everybody,
So a while ago I bought a 3 phase motor, which I know would like to wire for 220V
The problem is, I've noticed after opening it up, is that 3 of the wires seem to have been cut (see pictures), or at least, something about it looks wrong.
Am I right in assuming that to get the motor started, I'm going to have open up the motor completely and exchange the cut wires with new ones?

Name:  m1.jpg
Views: 44
Size:  106.4 KB

Name:  m2.jpg
Views: 41
Size:  121.8 KB

Name:  m3.jpg
Views: 40
Size:  88.5 KB

Name:  m4.jpg
Views: 29
Size:  49.9 KB

Name:  m5.jpg
Views: 38
Size:  55.8 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-09-19 at 10:28 AM. Reason: cropped/resized pictures
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-28-19, 02:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,153
Received 589 Votes on 554 Posts
Unfortunately we aren't going to be able to help you from just the pictures. There should be a wiring diagram on the wiring cover. If not...... you'll need to look up the make and model of the motor from the plate. If there is no plate.... the motor may be scrap.
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-19, 03:45 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just added some more photos.
I hope you will be able to give me some advice now
 
  #4  
Old 04-28-19, 04:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,153
Received 589 Votes on 554 Posts
Is your three phase service...... star or delta ?

Your motor looks to have four wires coming out of it. That would be normal..... 3 phases and a neutral. It looks like for some reason the wires were cut from the crimped lugs and reinstalled under nuts.
 
  #5  
Old 04-29-19, 02:04 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Delta I believe.
What do I have todo about the cut wires though?
 
  #6  
Old 04-29-19, 05:40 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 1,379
Received 46 Votes on 40 Posts
I am assuming this is an induction motor. Based on the connection diagram in photo 5, there should be 6 wires from the motor field windings attached to the connection block. This is 2 wires per winding (phase). One end of each winding is missing from the connection block. The motor will have to be disassembled to see if the 3 winding ends are available to attach a wire for connection to the connection block. If available, the ends can be identified with a winding using an ohmmeter. Assuming the bar attached to the 3 lugs in the connection block is a shorting bar, for the neutral connection of a 3 phase wye power source, it must be removed before using the ohmmeter. Opposite terminals on the connection block (rows of three) must be connected to a different winding and its correct end to insure a proper rotating magnetic field. I have never done this and if someone else on the forum canít help, you will need to have a motor repair shop make the winding connections to the connection block. Based on power source being a delta or wye, add jumpers and power at the connection block based on connection diagram. If winding ends are not available, I would think the cost of rewinding washes with the cost of a new motor. Good luck.
 
  #7  
Old 04-29-19, 08:37 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,153
Received 589 Votes on 554 Posts
I thought I saw three colored wires and a white.
Makes me think they combined the wires inside the motor.

Do you have an ohmmeter ? Check between the three wires on the posts for continuity.
 
  #8  
Old 04-29-19, 09:01 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If its not too complicated, then I'm fine doing it myself, but if it has to be repaired professionally I would rather just try to return it.

Do you think I would be able to manage to make the winding connections myself?
 
  #9  
Old 04-29-19, 09:05 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 126
Received 17 Votes on 16 Posts
Agree with Beelzebob and Pete. It would help to have closer pictures of the wires that are connected to terminal block. A description of the number of wires connected and their colors could also help.
The motor nameplate shows 380/220 so a delta connection of the windings would be needed for 220V. That requires access to all 6 ends of the three windings to make the proper connections.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: