Another shed question!

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-30-19, 08:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Another shed question!

The few related questions I could find online were from early 2000's so I wanted to make sure no changes have been made.

I have old shed with no wiring. I wanted 2 20amp circuits (1 for lights, 1 for receptacles). I'll be coming from my house panel, about 80ft total. I was thinking 12/3 uf-b would be easiest, coming into a junction box and splitting off there. I would use a 2pole gfci breaker in main panel. I dont have any leftover material I'm using up, so if theres a cheaper, easier way, thats fine too.
Thank you,
Nick
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-30-19, 09:09 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
The plan is sound. Burial depth is 12" or greater, with conduit required only for protection at the entrance and exit of the trench. You'll need a building disconnect where the power first enters the shed. I recommend a $7 air conditioner pull-out box. After that feel free to split up the multiwire circuit as you wish inside the shed. Once inside the shed you can use regular NM-B as long as it stays dry, or sticking with UF-B is OK too.
 
  #3  
Old 04-30-19, 10:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the swift reply.
 
  #4  
Old 04-30-19, 11:06 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,603
Received 24 Votes on 24 Posts
I would suggest an 8-3 UF Romex for the underground run would be better in case you want to expand the system later. For starters you can still feed it with 20 amps (20 amp GFCI breaker back at the house) and double pole 240 volt toggle switch as the shed main disconnect switch, and procrastinate on a subpanel in the shed until you need more amperes.
 
  #5  
Old 05-02-19, 10:59 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,092
Received 29 Votes on 23 Posts
double pole 240 volt toggle switch as the shed main disconnect switch
This will work fine as the required disconnect, but the cost of the double pole switch, the box to install it in and the cover plate will be more than the cost of the $7 air conditioning disconnect as ibpooks suggested. I'd use an Eaton/Cutler-Hammer non-fusible A-C disconnect except they are closer to$9 now.

https://www.lowes.com/pd/Eaton-60-Am...onnect/1114583
 
  #6  
Old 05-02-19, 02:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,182
Received 25 Votes on 20 Posts
If you run a circuit from a double pole breaker the voltage potential is 240V and if using direct bury cable the cover depth is 24". To direct bury less than 24" to a minimum of 12" depth is only for 120V 20A or less circuits with GFCI protection at the source. If using PVC conduit the cover depth is 18".
 
  #7  
Old 05-04-19, 06:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,603
Received 24 Votes on 24 Posts
deleted ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
  #8  
Old 05-11-19, 12:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Didnt realize I had more replies, thank you. Noted the new depth and cheaper box setup inside shed.
One last question, for the gfci double pole 20amp breaker I was going to put in house panel, Im seeing prices of around $70-$90. Am I looking at the right products, and do I need that?
 
  #9  
Old 05-11-19, 03:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,182
Received 25 Votes on 20 Posts
GFCI double pole breakers are expensive. If you place the circuit at the required depth the GFCI breaker is not needed. You can use a GFCI outlet in the shed to protect the outlet circuit.
 
  #10  
Old 05-11-19, 06:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Awesome thank you patten.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: