Can this fan motor replace my old one?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-10-19, 12:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can this fan motor replace my old one?

Hi Everyone,

So here is the deal, I have a 2014 oscillating tower fan that I really like and the company who makes the fan won't sell me an extra fan motor. I contacted some manufacturers in China and one was able to get very similar specs to the old one but it's still not spot on.

I wanted to know will this new motor be able to replace the old motor? Here are the specs of the old motor:

Type: PLD58-20
Voltage: 120V
Insulate Grade: E
Input Power: 25W
Frequency: 60Hz
Speed: 2200r/min

Here are the specs of the new motors:

https://i.imgur.com/DMSUobL.jpg
Name:  specs.jpg
Views: 50
Size:  117.4 KB

Can anyone tell me which motor on the list would be able to replace my old one?

Thank You
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-10-19 at 05:22 PM. Reason: added pic from link
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-10-19, 01:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,867
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
The new motor specs are not showing
 
  #3  
Old 05-10-19, 01:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry about that, I've updated the post with a working link.
 
  #4  
Old 05-10-19, 05:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,548
Received 409 Votes on 384 Posts
The new motor specs say 120/220 yet only two wires shown in picture.
They list motor current but don't say if that's for 120 or 220.
This looks to be a single speed motor...... isn't your tower multi speed ?
 
  #5  
Old 05-10-19, 05:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HI PJ,

I think they mean you can order the motor as 120 or 220 because they offer both this also applies for the current as well (but I will ask them to verify).

Here a picture of the fan: https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon....1Ua4quGm4L.jpg
The fan has 3 motors that all spin in unison.

I think the way it works is the fan controller controls how much power is going to the fan motor thus controlling the speed of the fan motor. The OEM fan motor looks exactly like the picture of the motor above.
 
  #6  
Old 05-10-19, 06:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,548
Received 409 Votes on 384 Posts
The current consumption of your motor is close to .20A
That would put it closest to the third motor but the speed is faster.
 
  #7  
Old 05-10-19, 07:30 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,092
Received 29 Votes on 23 Posts
the company who makes the fan won't sell me an extra fan motor
I'd just buy a second tower fan rather than a spare fan motor.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: