Installing a 240V outlet for charging my Chevy Volt.

Old 05-11-19, 03:36 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing a 240V outlet for charging my Chevy Volt.

I am not an electrician, and I need to put a 240V outlet in my car port, to plug in my 2016 Chevy Volt.

I will probably hire an electrician to put the breaker in, but I want to buy the components beforehand, and install the things I can install, like the outlet box.

I have a "Zinsco" main breaker panel I will be adding the new 240V breaker to.

So my preliminary questions are:
1. If I list the components on my shopping list could someone advise if they are the correct components, for my Zinsco panel and for the car I am going to plugin (2016 Chevy Volt)?

2. Is this the correct forum for this type of question?

Thanks in advance.

Justin.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-11-19, 04:22 PM
Group Moderator
Received 47 Votes on 44 Posts
Yes, this is the correct forum. That said, I would talk to the electrician first, as many of them are not fans of using items supplied by the homeowner.

mettam voted this post useful.
Old 05-11-19, 04:57 PM
Group Moderator
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Zinsco has been out of business for decades. The panels are considered a fire hazard. You might find a breaker but it will cost you. Best is to replace your breaker panel.

Old 05-11-19, 05:14 PM
Yes, I have heard Zinsco is s notoriously bad breaker panel. Because I will not be living in this house much longer I dont want to invest too much in replacing the Zinsco breaker panel.

So my options are:
1. Keep plugging into the 120V outlet and put up with having to pay a much higher rate per KWh.
2. Install 240V breaker into the Zinsco panel.
3. Or, (if this is possible) Get a double adaptor. and keep the Washing machine and the EV charger plugged into the same 240V outlet? Then run a long cable from the laundry out into the carport.