Electrical tape or not


  #1  
Old 05-12-19, 01:59 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electrical tape or not

Need a consensus. When replacing a 15 amp wall outlet, should you wrap the outlet terminals with electrical tape.
 
  #2  
Old 05-12-19, 02:20 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,482
Received 134 Votes on 123 Posts
Tape is not customarily used. The wiring relies on its insulation, careful bending and placement, and its rigidity so as not to touch in the wrong places.
 
  #3  
Old 05-12-19, 02:25 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,129
Received 352 Votes on 304 Posts
If you are installing the device in a plastic box there is no point. I do not normally tape my devices, even when installing in a metal box. However, there is nothing wrong with doing it. It is just another step and is personal preference.
 
  #4  
Old 05-12-19, 02:33 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,612
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
Not necessary.
I only do it if the device (outlet or switch) needs to be left outside of the junction box for drywall installation.
I sometimes do it when metal junction box is used, especially when the box is tight.
 
  #5  
Old 05-12-19, 11:02 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,635
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
Should you? No, not really necessary.

Can you? Sure, it's your house, go ahead - you're not going to hurt anything.

FWIW, none of the ones I have installed in my house are taped.
 
  #6  
Old 05-15-19, 03:32 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,823
Received 111 Votes on 98 Posts
FWIW, it's a real PIA when you start to remove a duplex receptacle that was taped when it was installed.
 
  #7  
Old 05-15-19, 04:20 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 126
Received 17 Votes on 16 Posts
For the reason CasualJoe mentions, in the rare cases I feel the need to tape receptacles or switches I fold back a very small portion at the end of the tape. That makes it much easier for the next guy to remove. And the next guy might be me!
The times I may use tape are when a metal mud ring or switch box is set back close to the 1/4" maximum from the surface, which brings the device terminals up close to the metal opening.
 
  #8  
Old 05-15-19, 04:29 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 570
Received 24 Votes on 23 Posts
As Casual Joe mentions, mastic from old tape is extremely messy. For that very reason I always used White or Grey tape for anything permanent. Still messy but nowhere near as objectionable if it gets transferred somewhere unintended.
 
  #9  
Old 05-16-19, 03:36 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,090
Received 356 Votes on 321 Posts
Agree with others. I'm not sure where this idea that tape was needed with with wire nuts. My old man use to use tape also. Never understood why.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: