Hardwiring Electric Range

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-12-19, 09:11 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hardwiring Electric Range

Hi all,

I am replacing a 20 year old electric range with a new one. The old one was direct wired with aluminum 3-wire cable from the two pole circuit breaker.

My understanding is that I don't have to change to 4-wire since this is old construction and it is not moving. While I understand it is recommended, replacing it would be very difficult.
​​​​​​
My other understanding is that I can direct wire if the range instructions allow it. This is a Samsung range. The instructions detail using "3-wire conduit" or "aluminum building wire". Is this the same thing?

If I am missing something, please let me know.
 
  #2  
Old 05-13-19, 12:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,326 Votes on 1,225 Posts
That connection block on the back of that range is not setup for aluminum wiring. I would highly recommend using a 3 wire cord and a 3 wire range receptacle that has lugs for the aluminum wiring.
 
Zorfdt voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 05-13-19, 05:23 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,957
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Hi, I canít believe they would even suggest using building wire in flex conduit to make that connection, especially Al. get yourself a cord and receptacle as PJ mentioned.
Geo
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: