Hardwiring Electric Range

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-12-19, 09:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hardwiring Electric Range

Hi all,

I am replacing a 20 year old electric range with a new one. The old one was direct wired with aluminum 3-wire cable from the two pole circuit breaker.

My understanding is that I don't have to change to 4-wire since this is old construction and it is not moving. While I understand it is recommended, replacing it would be very difficult.
​​​​​​
My other understanding is that I can direct wire if the range instructions allow it. This is a Samsung range. The instructions detail using "3-wire conduit" or "aluminum building wire". Is this the same thing?

If I am missing something, please let me know.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-13-19, 12:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
That connection block on the back of that range is not setup for aluminum wiring. I would highly recommend using a 3 wire cord and a 3 wire range receptacle that has lugs for the aluminum wiring.
 
Zorfdt voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 05-13-19, 05:23 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,070
Received 19 Votes on 19 Posts
Hi, I canít believe they would even suggest using building wire in flex conduit to make that connection, especially Al. get yourself a cord and receptacle as PJ mentioned.
Geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: