What are these receptacle boxes used for?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-14-19, 03:35 PM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 382
Likes Received: 1
Question What are these receptacle boxes used for?

I have a friend (who know I like these kind of things) who was at a job site and these were getting thrown away. Anyway what was the original purpose of these expensive looking things, besides the obvious answer that is to plug things in

Anyway what are those male (Inlet) & female (Outlet) things called.

Thanks
 
Attached Images     
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-14-19, 06:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,110
Likes Received: 2
Looks like temporary power possibly for a stage show or carnival.
 
  #3  
Old 05-14-19, 07:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,092
Likes Received: 2
Just googled and it is a modular lighting and power distribution system.
Usually used in warehouses or factory. Quick and easy installation and easier to modify later on.

Sentinel Lighting name is no longer used and taken over by Pac Systems

Modular Wiring Systems, Wiring Enclosures, Lighting Drops - PAC Systems
 
CircuitBreaker liked this post.
  #4  
Old 05-15-19, 02:48 AM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 382
Likes Received: 1
Thumbs up

Thank You for the link lambition. I searched google with the model/part number but I only got a few hits, but I did not get the manufacturers page like the link you posted
 
  #5  
Old 05-15-19, 06:56 AM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 382
Likes Received: 1
Talking

OK I got another one of these cool boxes but the cover plate is secured by a weird screw. Does anyone know what they are called and where I can get a bit?
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 05-15-19, 08:09 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,779
Likes Received: 8
It's one of a variety of tamperproof screws. I think that one is called a spanner. I have a kit of a couple dozen tamperproof screw bits of different types I bought for about $20.

For example: https://www.homedepot.com/p/Klein-To...2525/100647923
 
CircuitBreaker liked this post.
  #7  
Old 05-15-19, 08:18 AM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 382
Likes Received: 1
Thanks that is cool! but not so tamper proof if you can get the bits at a local store
 
  #8  
Old 05-15-19, 10:34 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,779
Likes Received: 8
I'm guessing it's how they got that UL stamp -- now it's a "sealed assembly" instead of field wiring. :-)
 
  #9  
Old 05-15-19, 11:38 AM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 382
Likes Received: 1
Exclamation

Ah, OK that makes sense I did not even think of that
 
  #10  
Old 05-20-19, 04:30 PM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 382
Likes Received: 1
Exclamation

OK I got the box apart. It turns out the same friend who gave these to me had the correct bit for that screw.

Anyway the connector for the green ground wires just came right off, I believe those connectors are supposed to be crimped after the wires are inserted correct? I dealt with similar connectors that I used for car stereo installs and they were always crimped on to secure the wires and you can actually notice where the connector was crimped.

These don't look to different and I see no crimp on the ground wire or any of the other ones that are in the device box for that matter.

I only wanted the box and the 20A receptacle anyway but I am curious as to why the wires just pulled out of the connector, the remaining ones seem tight and the wires will not come out however I am able to spin the top of the connectors

Thanks
 
Attached Images    
  #11  
Old 05-21-19, 05:34 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,779
Likes Received: 8
Yes that should have been crimped.
 
  #12  
Old 05-21-19, 02:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,092
Likes Received: 2
Looks like someone forgot to crimp or crimped incorrectly at the factory.

So long as they were under the crimp, QC test would have shown good since they are still connected.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes