Help instaling USB outlet in Kitchen downline from GFCI

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-19-19, 06:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 241
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Need help installing outlet.

Hi-
I have a GFCI outlet a few feet of this outlet to the right in the kitchen and this is the next one down the line. Do I just wire both of the blacks together and both of the whites together for this particular USB outlet I have in the picture?

thanks!
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by sayluv; 05-19-19 at 07:18 PM. Reason: Wrong forum, needs to be moved, sorry
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-19-19, 07:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 241
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Help instaling USB outlet in Kitchen downline from GFCI

Hi-
I have a GFCI outlet a few feet of this outlet to the right in the kitchen and this is the next one down the line. Do I just wire both of the blacks together and both of the whites together for this particular USB outlet I have in the picture?

thanks!
 
Attached Images  
  #3  
Old 05-19-19, 07:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,226
Received 17 Votes on 16 Posts
Do I just wire both of the blacks together and both of the whites together
If you had just regular duplex receptacle at that location, yes.
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-19, 07:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 241
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
well, Im dumb and I threw it out the other day. As far as I know it was just a standard receptacle with two backstabs or side screws for the wires. what would be a non standard receptacle? thanks
 
  #5  
Old 05-19-19, 07:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,226
Received 17 Votes on 16 Posts
GFCI is only other receptacle you could have had there.
 
  #6  
Old 05-19-19, 08:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 241
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
This is it. No clue why I would throw that out.
 
Attached Images   
  #7  
Old 05-19-19, 09:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Receptacle shown in post #6 is not GFCI. Connect all blacks to each other and repeat with whites.
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 05-20-19, 08:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 241
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
thank you, got it working!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: