"load" side of gfci

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-22-19, 09:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 443
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"load" side of gfci

Checking to see If I have this correct:

I want to add an outlet in a bathroom.
If I connect a "regular" outlet to the "load" side of an existing GFCI, I think that the new outlet will have the GF protection provided by the GFCI.
Is that correct, and is it better to do that than to add a second GFCI outlet instead of a "regular" one?
Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-22-19, 09:57 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Connecting to the load side of the GFCI is correct. There is no need for the extra cost of a second GFCI. If you did use a second GFCI it would connect to the line side not the load side.
 
  #3  
Old 05-23-19, 10:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 443
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Ray, I appreciate the options!
 
  #4  
Old 05-24-19, 05:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,506
Received 17 Votes on 17 Posts
If the second receptacle is near the first then you will probably prefer to run the cable from the load terminals of the first (, GFCI,) receptacle to an ordinary receptacle in the second location.

If the second receptacle is some distance away, such as in the next room, you may prefer to use a GFCI receptacle there and feed it with a cable tied in to the line side terminals of both receptacles.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: