Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Help wiring in new Irrigation controller/timer 2-wires vs 3-wires.

Help wiring in new Irrigation controller/timer 2-wires vs 3-wires.

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-26-19, 04:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Help wiring in new Irrigation controller/timer 2-wires vs 3-wires.

Hi guys,

I bought a Orbit 57946 B-hyve WiFi irrigation timer to replace a 20-year old Hunter timer.

I'm NO professional electrician, but I believe this I am capable with a little help...

The original timer is hard wired to the house fuse box located next to it. I turned the breaker off, removed the old unit and when I was about to put the new one in I realized I have an extra wire.

Original one was two-wires to the transformer. The new one has two red wires, and one green wire (new unit has a three-pin wall plug, but manual says it can be hard-wired by disconnecting it.

I want to check -- Am i right in assuming this 3rd green wire is a GND wire for the wall plug? Is the original unit just two live wires, and I just wire them both into the two red wires and remove the green wire? The green wire on the new transformer just has a screw holding it on, so it can be completely removed.

I dont want to mess up the new controller my wiring wrong, so want to verify if someone can assure me? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-26-19, 05:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,409
Upvotes Received: 46
Yes the green wire is a ground.
 
  #3  
Old 05-26-19, 11:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,374
Upvotes Received: 206
The white and black connect to the red transformer leads. The ground gets attached on the mounting screw for the transformer. Treat the red wires gently.

Name:  bee.JPG
Views: 31
Size:  22.5 KB
 
  #4  
Old 05-27-19, 06:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Well thatís what Iím saying- I only have black and white wires from fuse box. Do I connect black and white to red wires and disconnect the green since I only have two wires?
 
  #5  
Old 05-27-19, 07:37 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes Received: 1
The green is a ground and is needed for your safety, not for the function of the equipment. That said, unless this is fed from a GFCI breaker or receptacle ( as code says it needs to be), at the very least it needs to be grounded with an appropriate equipment grounding conductor that provides a ground path back to the main or source panel where the breaker/fuse is. You donít want stray voltage on the system with no way back to the OCP, putting yourself or you family in danger of shock in the event of a short. Iím curious why it is hard wired. Typically these are cord and plug connected, providing you a disconnect point and the ability to install a GFCI receptacle, which would provide life safety if no equipment grounding conductor was available.
 
PJmax voted this post as helpful.
  #6  
Old 05-27-19, 10:43 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,374
Upvotes Received: 206
Hmmmm...... that transformer isolates the system from the AC line. Technically only the transformer body is grounded. It would work fine without a connected ground but if the transformer every shorted internally.... there could be line voltage AC on the system. A GFI would protect what you have using only two wires and no available ground. .
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes