Help with A/C wiring issue. 240 to 208/230

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-19, 08:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Help with A/C wiring issue. 240 to 208/230

Hello all, needs some help here. I am installing a mini split mrcool DIY-24-HP-230AE. It says it runs on a 208v/230v line. I am in a motor home and my old is a 240. They question is can i use the 240 or do i have to use a MT-BBT-240V-208V-26.6A. Some people say its fine to use 240 and others say nope needs to be 208. Mrcool does not specify 3 phase just 208/230. Any help and if i need transformer did i pick the right one. Thanks for any help.link to the model i bought. Just waiting delivery

https://www.lowes.com/pd/MRCOOL-DIY-...ler/1000821700
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-27-19, 08:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,928
Likes Received: 149
Welcome to the forums.
One thread is allowed per topic. This is your thread.

Can we assume you have a 120/240v single phase service ?

I don't see any mention of 208v in the specs. They don't have much technical info online but you can call them directly..... tech support at 270-366-0457.

I'd have to think if it says 230v it would be fine on 240v as there is no 230v in this country.

From their specs.....
Name:  mc.JPG
Views: 87
Size:  16.3 KB
 
  #3  
Old 05-27-19, 08:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,129
Likes Received: 6
You should be able to use 240V. 10V is not much of difference for motors.
 
  #4  
Old 05-27-19, 08:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,386
Likes Received: 9
"230" is the standard motor rating. It allows +/- 10% so 240v is fine. If you look at most A/C systems they give ratings for 230v and get installed everywhere in North America using 240vac without issue.
 
  #5  
Old 05-28-19, 06:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Yes i have single phase. Where i got the 208v was from home depots web site. They show 208-230. Required
Voltage (v)
208/230v
Voltage (volts)
230
thanks for all the answers, feeling a little better that i did not make a huge mistake .
 
  #6  
Old 05-28-19, 07:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,114
Likes Received: 16
Over the years voltage has changed. Was 110/220V then 115/230 now 120/240V. A lot of documentation still calls for 115/230V simply because the documentation has not kept up with what standard voltages are today. I can read the voltage at my main panel and get 124/248V.
 
  #7  
Old 06-05-19, 07:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,423
Likes Received: 8
A single phase appliance or piece of equipment rated for 208/230 volts can be fed with either a 208 volt supply (which is usually or usually from a 3 phase 120/208 volt service) or a 240 volt supply (which is from the typical household service). There are two terminals or leads not counting the ground and they are connected to the two hot conductors in the branch circuit or feed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes