Burnt Wire On GFCI Outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-30-19, 12:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Burnt Wire On GFCI Outlet

I was running a Breville BOV900XL toaster, which has been working fine for 5 months (no tripping, no resets).
Today shortly after turning the toaster on, I heard a pinging noise, and the entire circuit on my GFI #2 breaker
went out. I shut it down, and upon opening it up saw one of the black wires was burned to a crisp at the end.

What could cause this, and what would be an appropriate next step? Should I just try replacing the outlet and cut the burned section of wiring out and reseat it in a new outlet? The Breville is running at 1800W, on a 20A circuit.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-30-19, 12:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,310
Likes Received: 32
Only one thing causes this, loose connection.

Should I just try replacing the outlet and cut the burned section of wiring out and reseat it in a new outlet?
yes, as long as the wire does not get too short.
 
  #3  
Old 05-30-19, 12:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Thank you for the quick response. I will reseat all the wiring.
I'm guessing the outlet is toast? (No pun intended)
 
  #4  
Old 05-30-19, 12:54 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,857
Likes Received: 10
Should I just try replacing the outlet and cut the burned section of wiring out and reseat it in a new outlet?

I agree, replace the outlet and repair or extend the wire eliminating the burnt portion. Before connecting to the new outlet I would also try resetting the GFCI breaker to make sure it isn't still tripping.
 
  #5  
Old 05-30-19, 12:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Got it, the breaker actually never tripped, I just lost all power to the circuit on that breaker.
 
  #6  
Old 05-31-19, 01:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Replaced the outlet, got the green led light but no power from the outlets.
Going to test the lines tomorrow, but I don't think this was the result of a loose connection.
That line was tight as can be.
 
  #7  
Old 05-31-19, 05:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,429
Likes Received: 8
Do the test and reset buttons work properly?

Did you connect the GFCI backwards with power going into the load terminals?

We can't rule out a hidden loose connection leading to a sudden random mechanical failure inside the GFCI unit particularly if it made a "ping" sound before failing.

Suggestion for those eavesdropping: When installing a GFCI receptacle unit, connect only the power first and verify that the receptacles work, before connecting the continuing subcircuit to the load terminals.
 
  #8  
Old 06-02-19, 10:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Hi AllanJ,

I did connect the wiring exactly as it was, and was working find for the four years I've lived here.
I did not connect just the breaker side first, which I now know I should have done.
The breaker's "hot" line is the one that burned out on the outlet.
I will reassemble just the lines from the breaker today and see how that goes.

Is there any specific way to use the multimeter to check these lines?
Or do you just put the black probe on the white line and the red on the black line?
 
  #9  
Old 06-02-19, 10:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Fixed it.
The Levitan outlet is backwards from the one I had.
Swapped the wiring and it worked. Checked everything with multimeter and variac and
it seems to be fine. The real pain was reversing the ground wire, had a little panic when I broke off the existing loop in the copper wire, but I formed a new loop and got it up top.

Thank you for your insight and advice everyone, I am very grateful.
 
  #10  
Old 06-02-19, 11:20 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Good job. Just for the future remember receptacles have no top or bottom. Ground can go bottom or top and with GFCI receptacles line can be either side. You need to look at the markings.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes