Panel - Outlet - Outlet - Outlet - Switch


  #1  
Old 06-01-19, 02:46 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Panel - Outlet - Outlet - Outlet - Switch

Howdy!
I'm trying to wire a pole barn for some plug in type LED lighting to go overhead. I'm trying to wire 3 duplex receptacles that can be controlled with a switch at the end of the run. Could someone share a diagram of this? I've tried and tried to get it right, but I am stumped. I have 14-2 wire coming from my breaker box, going into my first receptacle box, 14-2 to the next box, 14-2 to the next box, and 14-2 to the switch.
I've got everything in my barn wired, but the duplex receptacle switched overhead is driving me nuts. Thank you for any help you might be willing to give me.

TFB
 
  #2  
Old 06-01-19, 03:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
You need 14-3. Power goes to the switch on the black. Then back to the receptacles on the red.
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by ray2047; 06-01-19 at 05:37 PM.
The following 2 users liked this post by ray2047:
  #3  
Old 06-01-19, 05:59 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Southern Arizona
Posts: 157
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Your drawing is going to switch the whole outlet. Is that your intention?
Half switched will require removing the tab on the power side and landing the black/hot to each recpt. Say on the bottom.
I am assuming that your making the power/black up in each box for convenience.
I personally do not like using the outlet as part of the circuit. I would pig tail the neutral to at each box and land ONE neutral wire to each outlet. Same for your red/switched wire.
I have not done residential in a long time , I do not remember any NEC code that requires a neutral in the switch box. Might be a local code issue.
 
  #4  
Old 06-01-19, 06:35 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,401
Received 158 Likes on 139 Posts
The requirement for as neutral at the switch was added to the NEC in the last cycle or two.
 
  #5  
Old 06-01-19, 07:23 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Your drawing is going to switch the whole outlet. Is that your intention?
Yes. O/P wrote:
trying to wire 3 duplex receptacles that can be controlled with a switch at the end of the run.... the duplex receptacle switched overhead..... trying to wire a pole barn for some plug in type LED lighting to go overhead
Since overhead no indication they were to be used except for lighting. One could assume two lights plugged in. Only the O/P can say exactly
 
  #6  
Old 06-01-19, 10:39 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Y'all, this is exactly what I was looking for. I really didn't think I needed 14-3 because I wasn't wiring a 3-way switch. For the sake of discussion, is this possible with 14-2 wire?
And, for clarification, I don't want the duplex outlets split... There will be 2 light fixtures plugged into each outlet.
This is why I love the internet. Thank you all for the great help.
 
  #7  
Old 06-01-19, 11:20 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
14-2 could only be used if you brought power to the switch first.

I really didn't think I needed 14-3 because I wasn't wiring a 3-way switch
14-3 has many uses, not just 3-way switches.

Even though lights do not usually need GFCI protection since you are using receptacles they should be. However the GFCI protection will need to be either a breaker or a GFCI switch or a deadface GFCI in the same box as the switch because the height of the receptacle would make them inaccessible and code requires a GFCI to be accessible. .
 
The following users liked this post:
  #8  
Old 06-04-19, 09:17 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your help! My pole barn is officially wired up! LED lights should be arriving today.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: