Bypassing my Variac power switch?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-06-19, 03:37 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bypassing my Variac power switch?

Hi all,

I'm wondering how I go about fixing my variac. I use it periodically for fan control but after my last move I noticed the switch had broken and was crushed to pieces. I'm hoping I can just re wire the internals so that it bypasses the switch and will just remain on. I can just unplug the variac if I dont need it to turn it off.

The attached pic shows the inside. I highlighted in blue circles what I think are the wires I need to connect together.
On the right side, I would solder the black wire coming from the power cord to the brown wire that goes to the fuse?
And then on the left circle just solder those white and blue wires together?

Can anyone let me know if this will work ? Thanks
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by esteboatan; 06-06-19 at 04:14 PM.
  #2  
Old 06-06-19, 03:47 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,726
Received 297 Votes on 255 Posts
Is the switch lighted when on?
 
  #3  
Old 06-06-19, 03:49 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It was before it smashed to pieces, now there is nothing in the switch hole, the actual plastic pieces and spring all fell out.
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-19, 04:57 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,553
Received 92 Votes on 80 Posts
Jump right 2 terminals (brown and black wires), then you will be good to co.
If broken switch has exposed contacts, it is best to cut brown and black wires off the switch and connect them together with a wire nut.

Also, it is not too hard to replace the switch.
 
esteboatan voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 06-06-19, 05:14 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks lambition. I'll just disconnect them from the switch and connect them together like you said. A new switch will be on the way but good I can still use the variac until I fully repair it.
 
  #6  
Old 06-06-19, 06:42 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,726
Received 297 Votes on 255 Posts
Connect brown and black.
Connect blue and white.
You should be good. The switch had the neutral because of the light.
 
esteboatan voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 06-06-19, 06:44 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help! Its working fine now, just wanted to get some opinions as my electrical knowledge is fairly low and didnt want to damage the variac
 
  #8  
Old 06-06-19, 07:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,854
Received 1,336 Votes on 1,234 Posts
Just remember....... without the power switch...... turning the Variac all the way down does not turn it off and there is still voltage coming out of it.

With a load connected..... it will be 0v when turned all the way down.
With no load connected it can be full line voltage.... 120v even when turned down.
 
esteboatan voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: