Can't figure out wiring instructions

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-07-19, 06:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 250
Can't figure out wiring instructions

Notice how there's a pigtail of ground wires at the heater/fan/light unit. And notice how one of the ground wires appears to go back into the conduit but never comes out the other end! What is going on here?

Page 3 (Step 5 has the wiring instructions)...
https://images.homedepot-static.com/...1bf4a9c5a9.pdf
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-07-19, 06:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,132
Likes Received: 7
Looks like some one forgot to draw a ground wire on right wire.

Basically, just tie all ground wires together. Rest of the drawing looks good.
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-19, 10:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 250
Seems like the 3rd ground wire coming out of that pigtail at the NuTone box is irrelevant / redundant. Like I could maybe just screw it into a clamp screw instead of running all the way through the conduit on the right?
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-19, 04:09 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,132
Likes Received: 7
The drawing shows cables not conduit. Every cable must have a ground wire all the way through.
If you have metal junction box, a ground wire must be screwed to it. The drawing shows metal junction box. If you have non-metalic junction box, do not screw ground wire to it. Just connect ground wires together.
 
AndyRooney liked this post.
  #5  
Old 06-09-19, 04:43 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,817
Likes Received: 6
You do not connect the grounds to a c!amp screw..
 
AndyRooney liked this post.
  #6  
Old 06-09-19, 07:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,286
Likes Received: 28
Connect ALL ground wires together no matter where they come from even from different circuits.
 
AndyRooney liked this post.
  #7  
Old 06-09-19, 10:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 250
Oh! Two Romex lines in their diagram. Got it.

Right now there's an existing metal conduit (that runs to the old NuTone heater/light). There's a neutral (white) and 2 hots (orange, yellow) running through it. The extra hot is there (I believe) because the light switch to the lights above the vanity was set up to also control the light in the NuTone.

So I'm going to make one of the 3 switches (on the new switch that I install) control the light in the new NuTone fan/heater/light that I want to install.

I'm also going to be installing a Romex 12/2 as a second line.

I guess my only question now is should I /must I run a 4th wire (ground) through the existing metal conduit (that doesn't have a ground wire in there now)?
The light switch box in the bathroom is metal. Obviously so is the NuTone box.
 
  #8  
Old 06-10-19, 01:49 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,817
Likes Received: 6
You only need one ground per conduit.

Another conductor can be pulled into the conduit.
 
AndyRooney liked this post.
  #9  
Old 06-10-19, 03:18 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,132
Likes Received: 7
If it is metal conduit all the way, then there is no need for additional ground wire. Conduit acts as a ground conductor.
 
AndyRooney liked this post.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes