Can't figure out wiring instructions

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-07-19, 07:17 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 322
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can't figure out wiring instructions

Notice how there's a pigtail of ground wires at the heater/fan/light unit. And notice how one of the ground wires appears to go back into the conduit but never comes out the other end! What is going on here?

Page 3 (Step 5 has the wiring instructions)...
https://images.homedepot-static.com/...1bf4a9c5a9.pdf
 
  #2  
Old 06-07-19, 07:21 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,554
Received 92 Votes on 80 Posts
Looks like some one forgot to draw a ground wire on right wire.

Basically, just tie all ground wires together. Rest of the drawing looks good.
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-19, 11:13 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 322
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Seems like the 3rd ground wire coming out of that pigtail at the NuTone box is irrelevant / redundant. Like I could maybe just screw it into a clamp screw instead of running all the way through the conduit on the right?
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-19, 05:09 AM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,554
Received 92 Votes on 80 Posts
The drawing shows cables not conduit. Every cable must have a ground wire all the way through.
If you have metal junction box, a ground wire must be screwed to it. The drawing shows metal junction box. If you have non-metalic junction box, do not screw ground wire to it. Just connect ground wires together.
 
AndyRooney voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 06-09-19, 05:43 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
You do not connect the grounds to a c!amp screw..
 
AndyRooney voted this post useful.
  #6  
Old 06-09-19, 08:22 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,727
Received 299 Votes on 256 Posts
Connect ALL ground wires together no matter where they come from even from different circuits.
 
AndyRooney voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 06-09-19, 11:06 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 322
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh! Two Romex lines in their diagram. Got it.

Right now there's an existing metal conduit (that runs to the old NuTone heater/light). There's a neutral (white) and 2 hots (orange, yellow) running through it. The extra hot is there (I believe) because the light switch to the lights above the vanity was set up to also control the light in the NuTone.

So I'm going to make one of the 3 switches (on the new switch that I install) control the light in the new NuTone fan/heater/light that I want to install.

I'm also going to be installing a Romex 12/2 as a second line.

I guess my only question now is should I /must I run a 4th wire (ground) through the existing metal conduit (that doesn't have a ground wire in there now)?
The light switch box in the bathroom is metal. Obviously so is the NuTone box.
 
  #8  
Old 06-10-19, 02:49 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
You only need one ground per conduit.

Another conductor can be pulled into the conduit.
 
AndyRooney voted this post useful.
  #9  
Old 06-10-19, 04:18 AM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,554
Received 92 Votes on 80 Posts
If it is metal conduit all the way, then there is no need for additional ground wire. Conduit acts as a ground conductor.
 
AndyRooney voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: