3 way switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-13-19, 09:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
3 way switch

I have 3 sets of wires coming in to My electrical Box. One is a outside power source 1 is the 3 way wires 1 goes to the lights I cannot figure out how to wire this properly does anybody have a diagram.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-13-19, 10:09 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,840
Upvotes Received: 8
By electrical box are you referring to a switch box? post some pics of what you have there.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-19, 10:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,418
Upvotes Received: 50
Attachment 105981The wire colours between the switches might be different. You need to open the other switch and verify which wire on the common(black) screw. The other two don't matter. They are interchangeable.

Name:  3waysame.jpg
Views: 49
Size:  46.9 KB

 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-15-19 at 02:01 PM. Reason: ID'd switch screws
  #4  
Old 06-15-19, 08:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
I have 3 black wires 1 from power source 1 from 3 way wire and one to my lights. Same with white wire and 1 red. I took it apart because I was going to make it a Sensor lite switch so I did not pay attention to how it was wired. Any help would be appreciated.
 
  #5  
Old 06-15-19, 08:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,393
Upvotes Received: 208
You have three cables there. One is the supply and is hot. One is the light. The other is the three way switch. The wiring is very easy but you need to pull out the other three way switch and see what wire color is on the odd/dark/black screw. Don't disconnect that switch.

Joed's diagram is what you have but we need the common wire to finalize it.
Also make sure your sensor switch is three way compatible.

What model number sensor did you get ?
 
  #6  
Old 06-15-19, 09:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
I'm sorry that was what I was going to put in but now I'm back to a regular toggle switch which is a 3 way switch And I remember when I took it a part a black wire was wire nutted to a white wire
 
  #7  
Old 06-15-19, 09:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,393
Upvotes Received: 208
We still need the wire color on the dark screw of the second switch.
 
  #8  
Old 06-15-19, 09:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
The one labeled common witch is the Bottom of the two screws is black going to the three way wire red is above that and white is by itself
 
  #9  
Old 06-15-19, 02:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,393
Upvotes Received: 208
Ok.... I labeled the screw terminals in Joed's diagram but that is what you need to follow.
The location of the screws on the switch is unimportant as long as the black screw is observed.

Based on the switch you got..... there may need to be some slight rewiring.
If you post the model number I can give you exact directions.
 
  #10  
Old 06-15-19, 04:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Tm873-WCC10 it is a legrand
 
  #11  
Old 06-15-19, 04:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,393
Upvotes Received: 208
My apologies.... you're using a standard 3w switch. That will connect like switch 1 in the diagram.
 
  #12  
Old 06-16-19, 07:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Hi guys
Thanks for the replies in this thread, last week I was trying to figure out how to wire a 3-way switch and ran across this complete easy tutorial https://besthomegear.com/how-to-wire...-light-switch/ that has illustrations and videos and made it very easy for me to understand, and complete the wiring myself. Maybe it will help some of you as well, Cheers
 
  #13  
Old 06-16-19, 08:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,418
Upvotes Received: 50
That is one way to do it. If I was starting from scratch that is the way I would probably do it. However there 8 different ways to do it and that is not how the OP's is wired.
 
PJmax voted this post as helpful.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes