Single pole thermostat L1 and T1 indentification

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-13-19, 12:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Single pole thermostat L1 and T1 indentification

Hey, I could use a little guidance. I am trying to change 3 thermostats in my home for my baseboard heaters. Nothing wrong with the old ones just out dated and yellow, they work fine.

I bought 3 new Honeywell CT410A's to replace the old Honeywell thermostats. The wires on the old thermostats are not labelled as L1 and T1. I used my voltage tester to check for the load line but I get a reading on both wires. Not sure how to proceed.

I have attached some pictures of my wiring.

Help appreciated. Thanks.

Name:  s1.JPG
Views: 23
Size:  51.2 KB

Name:  s2.jpg
Views: 22
Size:  53.3 KB

Name:  s3.jpg
Views: 21
Size:  54.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-13-19 at 07:28 PM. Reason: resized pictures
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-13-19, 12:18 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,912
Upvotes Received: 34
On that type of thermostat, it doesn't matter which is which.
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-19, 12:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
So, I can connect either black comming out of my box to either of the blacks on this new thermostat, pictured below? Is this correct? They are interchangeable? No wrong way to connect them?

I just want be absolutely certain. Thanks
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 06-13-19, 01:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,133
Upvotes Received: 7
Yes. it doesn't matter which wire goes to which.
It is basically just a switch.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes