Single pole thermostat L1 and T1 indentification


  #1  
Old 06-13-19, 12:16 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Single pole thermostat L1 and T1 indentification

Hey, I could use a little guidance. I am trying to change 3 thermostats in my home for my baseboard heaters. Nothing wrong with the old ones just out dated and yellow, they work fine.

I bought 3 new Honeywell CT410A's to replace the old Honeywell thermostats. The wires on the old thermostats are not labelled as L1 and T1. I used my voltage tester to check for the load line but I get a reading on both wires. Not sure how to proceed.

I have attached some pictures of my wiring.

Help appreciated. Thanks.

Name:  s1.JPG
Views: 1508
Size:  51.2 KB

Name:  s2.jpg
Views: 1250
Size:  53.3 KB

Name:  s3.jpg
Views: 1174
Size:  54.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-13-19 at 07:28 PM. Reason: resized pictures
  #2  
Old 06-13-19, 12:18 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Received 45 Votes on 43 Posts
On that type of thermostat, it doesn't matter which is which.
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-19, 12:33 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, I can connect either black comming out of my box to either of the blacks on this new thermostat, pictured below? Is this correct? They are interchangeable? No wrong way to connect them?

I just want be absolutely certain. Thanks
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 06-13-19, 01:35 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,784
Received 170 Votes on 146 Posts
Yes. it doesn't matter which wire goes to which.
It is basically just a switch.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: