UK 220V Steam Iron in US

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-01-19, 08:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
UK 220V Steam Iron in US

Hi,

I was thinking of buying this Steam Iron Philips GC9682/86 PerfectCare Elite Plus Steam Generator and I wanted to use it in the US as we don't have good selection of similar irons here. The iron is designed for 220v-240v 50-60hz and has a Type G plug.

I was planning to wire a Nema 6-20R using 12/2 and a 20A breakrer. Then using a Type G to 6-20P adapter to convert the plug.

The Iron is said to have electronics for the auto temp feature. Do you think this will work or am I going to run into an issue with the electronics in the iron requiring a Neutral leg? I believe the UK type G plug has one 220v leg, one neutral, and a ground. The 6-20R would be two 120v legs and a ground.

Any ideas if this would be okay or am I better off looking at a 5000W transformer. I prefer to run the 240V 6-20 if it'll work.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-01-19, 08:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,411
Received 12 Votes on 11 Posts
That is some iron. If you are willing to go for that one I would think that there are commercial style ones available here in the US.

Should work fine. Transformer not needed if you have a 240v circuit. US has 60Hz power while most other countries have 50Hz. This normally only has compatibility issues with motors but there is a chance for the iron's electronics but is minimal.

Make sure to get a good adapter as most are cheap and may not survive long with the heavy load this iron makes.

Note you also could go with 6-15R. 2700 watts / 240 volts = 11.25 amps
 
  #3  
Old 07-01-19, 09:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. I haven't been able to find anything similar here in the US. These irons are fairly popular in Europe but I'm assuming we don't have them here due to the high amps required if at 120v.

I found these on Amazon - NEMA 6-20P - for 208/220/230/240 Volt Receptacles - 15 Amps Max

Other than calling Philips and not getting an answer - Is there any other way to determine if having a live leg where a neutral is expected would cause any issues?
 
  #4  
Old 07-01-19, 09:33 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,303
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
I like Reliable Irons. You may find these a better option as they're made for the US. You can get them on Amazon, too.

Reliable
 
  #5  
Old 07-01-19, 10:13 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,411
Received 12 Votes on 11 Posts
That Amazon one states maximum of 15amp which is good that they know there is a limit. What I don't like about that one is the exposed rivets on the bottom.

Phillips follows standards so should be fine with live-live-ground instead of live-neutral-earth.
 
  #6  
Old 07-01-19, 10:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,499
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
You can take an ohmmeter and check for continuity between the two hot pins (one at a time) of the original plug and exposed metal parts on the iron itself. Ther should not be continuity. Then you can substitute a new U.S. 15 amp 240 volt plug.
 
Astuff voted this post useful.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: