WeMo 3 way switch installation - dumb Q I'm sure

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-03-19, 01:45 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 15
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
WeMo 3 way switch installation - dumb Q I'm sure

Hi,

I've installed many many switches/outlets, including a WeMo single pole switch (years ago). I can copy the existing wiring essentially.

In this case the wire that is connected to the black screw of the existing 3 way switch is actually a continuous wire that is wrapped around the screw (LINE/LOAD).

The WeMo instructions indicate to remove this wire and connect it to the black wire on the WeMo switch.

Do I need to cut this wire and attach all 3 with a wire nut? Or???

Thank you!!


https://www.belkin.com/us/support-pr...4000004HVCEAA4
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-03-19, 03:22 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,528
Received 238 Votes on 209 Posts
Yes. cut the wire and connect all three with a wire nut.
 
  #3  
Old 07-03-19, 03:26 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 15
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Well, thank you for the quick reply! So much appreciated!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: