Line and Load on a 208v switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-07-19, 07:27 PM
crazysaguaro's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Line and Load on a 208v switch

Hello,
Which ones of these wires are the LINE and LOAD wires? There is a red wire at the top connected to a gold(ish) screw and a black wire at the bottom connected to a black screw (same on both sides).
Thank you,
Gina

Name:  20190707_191345.jpg
Views: 88
Size:  2.93 MB

Name:  20190707_191354.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  2.81 MB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-07-19, 07:32 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 85 Votes on 73 Posts
That is a double pole single.throw switch. There is no line or load.

The wire loops should be clockwise around the screws.
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-19, 07:38 PM
crazysaguaro's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's for a pool pump - I'm removing it and replacing with a "smart" switch. An electrician actually put those wires on so he put them on in the wrong direction.

The smart switch is below. The wires are:
BLACK line 1
BROWN line 2
Red load
Yellow load
Blue common

I know the BLUE common wire goes to the big bundle of white wires, but need to know how to hook up the red and black wires on this existing switch to the BLACK/BROWN/RED/YELLOW wires on the new smart switch.

Thanks for any help,
Gina

Name:  s-l1600.jpg
Views: 66
Size:  61.4 KB
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-19, 07:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,642
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
In that box I see two red wires and two black wires. One pair is LINE and one pair is LOAD. You will need a meter to determine which red/black pair is the LINE/live one.


However..... I don't see any bundle of white wires. You are switching a 240v pump which doesn't use a neutral.
 
  #5  
Old 07-07-19, 07:58 PM
crazysaguaro's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The white wires are up in a different part of the box just above this one - I can access them easily.

So one of the red/black pairs are the LINEs and the other pair are the LOADs? If I get a meter, how do I tell which is which?

I am a novice trying to decide if I want an electrician to do this or if I can do it myself. I have hooked up smart switches inside the house, installed ceiling fans, etc with no problems - but this is a bit different.

Thank you,
Gina
 
  #6  
Old 07-07-19, 08:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,642
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
Turn the switch off. Carefully check the wiring with a meter.
The red and black that are live with the switch off is the line/live pair. The other is the load.
 
crazysaguaro voted this post useful.
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: