Wiring a control panel in an A/C Window Unit...?

Old 08-10-19, 01:25 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring a control panel in an A/C Window Unit...?

So here is what im trying to do.. i have a 10,000 btu window unit that i am trying to extend the face plate cover, in order to run air underneath my bed in my travel trailer/camper, sort of like ducting. i need the face plate to be about 5 ft extended from the actual body of the unit and my problem is that i need to also extend the wiring harness that goes from the main unit to the control panel on the face plate. it looks to me like the existing wires consist of 9 - 28 awg wire and 2 - 24 awg wire. i spliced into the 28 awg wire with 24 awg wire, and the 24 awg wire with 16 or 18 awg wire. i tried plugging in the window unit but the control panel does not work. it seems to me that the resistance in the wire is what is getting me but i am no electrician. does anyone out there have any idea on what may be wrong or have some suggestions on what i can do?

Name:  a1.jpg
Views: 75
Size:  113.2 KB

Name:  a2.jpg
Views: 74
Size:  150.4 KB

Name:  a3.jpg
Views: 65
Size:  72.8 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 08-10-19 at 10:56 PM. Reason: reoriented/resized pictures
Sponsored Links
Old 08-10-19, 05:09 PM
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
Did you include a ground wire from the air conditioner chassis to the control panel metal frame?

Low voltage connections and circuits may use ground (the chassis) as a common conductor or return conductor.

Double check your wiring.for mistakes.

Old 08-10-19, 11:06 PM
Group Moderator
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That looks to be all logic level wiring so the size is not important.
Did you check the reset on the GFI plug to make sure it was set ?

I don't think that will require ground to that face to operate.
I would also recommend double checking your wiring.