Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Help to eliminate one 3-way switch and convert other to 2-way

Help to eliminate one 3-way switch and convert other to 2-way

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-14-19, 01:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help to eliminate one 3-way switch and convert other to 2-way

Hi.
I replaced the exhaust fan in my bathroom. The new fan is working well with the existing 2 switches (one in the bathroom and one in the hall). But the new fan includes a switch with a timer and a moisture sensor and I would really like to use it. How can I remove the switch in the hall and install the new switch in the bathroom? I have included an imgur link with pictures.
Thanks in advance for any help.

http://imgur.com/gallery/0qwUgLg
Name:  s1.jpg
Views: 73
Size:  37.1 KB

Name:  s2.jpg
Views: 63
Size:  49.2 KB

Name:  s3.jpg
Views: 70
Size:  36.3 KB

Name:  s4.jpg
Views: 60
Size:  46.8 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-14-19 at 02:31 PM. Reason: imported pictures
Sponsored Links

Popular Reply

 
08-14-19, 04:02 PM
joed
joed is offline
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,699
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
Remove the wires from switch C. The three wires from the top left cable are no longer needed. Remove the black from that cable from the black bundle. They are the cable to the other switch. Cap them off and stuff back into box.

Connect your new timer between the black bundle and red from the lower left cable.
If your timer needs a neutral connect to the bundle of whites.
 
  #2  
Old 08-14-19, 02:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,699
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
It all depends on how your current three ways are wired. I can't get enough info from the image you posted.
Can you pull both three way out of the box and post images of all the wiring in the boxes.
 
DougOfWar voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 08-14-19, 02:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,699
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
Not sure what happened but those pictures are no longer available.
You can post pictures directly to the board....... How-to-insert-pictures.
 
DougOfWar voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 08-14-19, 02:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I updated the Imgur link with 2 pictures of the hallway switch. Is that good or do you need more of the bathroom switch?
 
  #5  
Old 08-14-19, 02:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,699
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
Imported your pictures and labeled them.

A&B is one switch we'll call A
C&D is the other switch we'll call C.
Which switch do you want to eliminate ?
 
DougOfWar voted this post useful.
  #6  
Old 08-14-19, 02:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks!
Here are 2 pics of the inside of the box of switch a.
http://imgur.com/gallery/U4I1siP
Name:  s5.jpg
Views: 49
Size:  78.0 KB

I would like to eliminate switch C and replace switch A with the new exhaust fan switch.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-14-19 at 04:10 PM. Reason: added pic from link
  #7  
Old 08-14-19, 04:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,699
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
Remove the wires from switch C. The three wires from the top left cable are no longer needed. Remove the black from that cable from the black bundle. They are the cable to the other switch. Cap them off and stuff back into box.

Connect your new timer between the black bundle and red from the lower left cable.
If your timer needs a neutral connect to the bundle of whites.
 
DougOfWar, PJmax voted this post useful.
  #8  
Old 08-14-19, 04:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you very much, joed!
So I remove all of the wires from the top left cable that go to switch C? I can wrap them all together with a Marette? And do the same in the box for switch C? Then I'll remove that switch (C)and put a blank cover plate on the box. The new switch also has a green (ground?) wire. What do I do with that?
 
  #9  
Old 08-14-19, 04:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,699
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
Yes....you can wirenut them together. You can do the same at the switch end that is getting removed. This way in the future you'll know this is the same cable.

There is a black/hot splice, a white/neutral splice and a ground splice. You can connect your new switch to the ground splice. Just look for where the bare wires connect together.
 
DougOfWar voted this post useful.
  #10  
Old 08-15-19, 04:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks very much to joed and Pjmax!!
It all went very smoothly and the exhaust fan is now operating off of the new switch. And I'm a Home Reno genius that doesn't need to hire a damn electrician! (Please, nobody tell my wife about this forum).
Thanks again for all of your help,

Doug
 

Last edited by DougOfWar; 08-15-19 at 04:16 PM. Reason: Spelling
  #11  
Old 08-15-19, 04:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,699
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
Good job. Name:  thumb.jpg
Views: 30
Size:  1.6 KB You're very welcome. (we won't breath a word to the wife )
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: