Meter box Riser & Weather head

Old 08-15-19, 07:39 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Meter box Riser & Weather head

Good morning to all,

I've been remodeling houses for my wife and I for going on 12 years now. We have a cabin that we're remodeling and I have a question about the meter box riser and weather head for the main supply to the cabin.

I can't recall exactly where, but I believe there is something in the national code regarding the fact that the main supply to the riser cannot cross the roof of any building or be within a certain number of feet of any other unrelated building roof as it proceeds to the weather head and riser. The present riser is presently just a flexible covering that is tethered to a gable edge and then proceeds to the pole.

Where the present supply connection exists, we wish to extend the gable roof 9 feet outward so that it provides a porch over an existing deck, which would obviously leave the riser to cross the extended new gable metal roof as it proceeds to the pole. We are also installing a garage in front of the gable roof extension and I want the supply to be some distance from its roof as well.

My thought was to come out of the meter box with 2" IMC metal conduit that would leave less than 40% fill of the supply lines and run it inside the new closed in gable roof porch over near the new gable edge and then travel forward to pass the new garage roof before exiting the gable and extend it upward 2 feet, capping it with the weather head with 18" free supply line for the reconnect which would place it properly on the edge of the cabin gable roof and place it far ahead of the garage and away from ability to reach it form the new garage roof. It also reduces the distance to the utility pole by nearly 20 feet, which I favor as well since it presently crosses the open porch overhead to reach the flexible riser.