Neutral required for new dedicated 240volt circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-17-19, 10:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Neutral required for new dedicated 240volt circuit?

In my my new shop-space adding tablesaw, jointer and drill press and I will add circuits to run each.of these convertible motors using 240V. They will be all 240 only devices and each has a dedicated run.

Do the runs require a neutral due to any code consideration, or as a matter of practicality?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-18-19, 02:05 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,873
Received 16 Votes on 13 Posts
Straight 240v equipment does not need a neutral. Just 2 hots and a ground.
 
Rodango voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 08-19-19, 06:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
@pcboss, thanks for your quick answer. Are you kup’ on recent code requirements - I guess that would be, for the US, 2014 NEC? I’m in the design stage. The county I live in is the AHJ. Their website is large and confusingly indirect. Equally, it’s very hard to get an informed person on the phone, ha. That’s why I’m looking for a cite that clarifies the issue (Dekalb county has adopted the code with most revisions, in whole, except for some specific changes. These are typically narrowing or selection where a choice might be made. I’m a bit crosseyed from looking through all of it. So a cite would really help especially if this exact subject is dealt with by code.
 
  #4  
Old 08-19-19, 09:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Southern Arizona
Posts: 62
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
220v with or without a neutral.

If the equipment is a motor load only your good to go without a neutral. IF there are any controls, leds, work lights your going to need a neutral to be up to code.
 
  #5  
Old 08-19-19, 09:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,980
Received 270 Votes on 252 Posts
Your are running cable for a specific purpose....... 240v equipment.
There is no code requirement that you need to run a neutral to the location just so it's there if needed.
 
  #6  
Old 08-19-19, 04:40 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,943
Received 20 Votes on 15 Posts
Dekalb county has adopted the code with most revisions, in whole, except for some specific changes.

I believe I would call the county building office and ask what version of the NEC they have adopted (current version is 2017) and also ask for a list of addendums enacted by ordinance. If by ordinance they had added to or removed portions of the code they likely have a list to be handed out.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: