Wiring for Range Hood - Not Sure Where to Place NM Cable

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-18-19, 08:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 242
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring for Range Hood - Not Sure Where to Place NM Cable

I am remodeling my kitchen, and I am not sure where to locate the NM cable for the range hood. My understanding is that they usually have their own junction box, so I just hang the wire. I don't know whether it should drop from the ceiling, or if it should come out of the back wall. This is probably a dumb question, but this will be my first time installing one.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-18-19, 11:06 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,976
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
I would recommend putting it in the upper cabinet above the hood and installing a receptacle there. Then, put a cord on the hood. It makes for an easier install and if you ever want to change the hood, or go to an OTR microwave it is an easy swap.

Also on the OTR microwave option, if you can you may want to make the range hood receptacle a dedicated circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-19, 11:24 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,959
Received 34 Votes on 29 Posts
A cord and plug connected range hood requires a dedicated circuit.
 
  #4  
Old 08-18-19, 12:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,254
Received 18 Votes on 17 Posts
If you plan on hard wiring the range hood, it is the best to measure and mark location and height of the cabinet, then find specification for the hood, so that you know the location of the knockout for the wiring.
Leave about 12" or more cable in case you need to move the wiring. You should be able to pull the wiring within few inches.

If you are unsure of the height, pull the cable to the height you know will be covered by the cabinet for sure and leave extra length of cable. That way, you can pull the cable down as needed.

If you are installing a stand alone hood (not mounted to the cabinet), then you really have to double check with the kitchen layout and hood specification. You don't want the cable right in the center as it will be covered by duct work. Many stand alone hood had cord instead of hard wiring. So, you may need to install a receptacle.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: