How do I bypass ac to dc converter rectifier

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-21-19, 11:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do I bypass ac to dc converter rectifier

Hey Hello all, need help identifying ac to dc rectifier so that I can bypass this so the converter will function as normal. Now I just need to know where to Connect the dc input cables. Btw, already confirmed operation on 100v dc but they wouldn’t give me any more details
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-21-19 at 11:41 PM. Reason: removed non working links
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-21-19, 11:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,166
Received 475 Votes on 445 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your pictures links were to the location IN your phones browser where they are stored. You need to physically move them to the board or to an external host.
See if this helps..... How-to-insert-pictures.

An AC to DC rectifier can be as simple as one diode, two diodes or a bridge rectifier which is four diodes in one unit.
 
  #3  
Old 08-22-19, 04:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 1,298
Received 42 Votes on 36 Posts
Why can't you connect DC input directly to load, eliminating the ac/dc converte, or am I missing something?
 
  #4  
Old 08-23-19, 12:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,166
Received 475 Votes on 445 Posts
Without pictures.....we can only guess what the OP is working on.
 
  #5  
Old 08-28-19, 02:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sorry about that. hopefully i your'e able to see these this time. otherwise,

Name:  i1.jpg
Views: 44
Size:  72.9 KB

Name:  i2.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  75.1 KB

Name:  i3.jpg
Views: 49
Size:  122.6 KB

Name:  i4.jpg
Views: 45
Size:  153.6 KB

Name:  i5.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  54.3 KB

Name:  i6.jpg
Views: 49
Size:  88.8 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-28-19 at 05:23 PM. Reason: resized pictures
  #6  
Old 08-28-19, 03:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Primary power source in honda crz is 100v dc.hybrid battery, dc to dc converter, no alternator to 12v battery. The load is now 2-12vdc 50amp hr agm batteries 80 amp car audio amplifier. At higher volumes, I can drain the batteries down in under an hour so i'm having to manually charge batteries daily. My goal was to run this converter tapped off 100v battery and power just the 2nd 12v and audio system. I've seen one other setup like this in same car newer model with 144v primary battery and powermax converter.
 
  #7  
Old 08-28-19, 04:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,166
Received 475 Votes on 445 Posts
Ok. We see what looks like a switching power supply. You didn't post a picture of the make or model or specs on the label so we'll assume it's a single voltage AC to DC supply.

What exactly is the unit we are looking at in the picture ?
What does it convert...... from what to what ?

Your Honda has an IMA - integrated motor assist - that doubles as a drive motor and a starter motor and a charging unit. The charge circuit is supposed to charge the main IMA battery first and then shift extra power to the 12v battery(s). Will you be risking the charge level of the IMA battery by using excessive power for your sound system ?
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-28-19 at 05:01 PM.
  #8  
Old 08-28-19, 05:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,166
Received 475 Votes on 445 Posts
I'm still kicking this around. So your intentions are to power this "inverter" with the 100vDC from the IMA battery. I guess that may work. That inverter normally would take 120vAC in and rectify it to approx 165vDC. Then it would be filtered and sent to the HV inverter stages. If your "source" is correct.... the 100vDC will run the inverter.

I added a red box and a blue box to your one picture. The red box is the 120vAC in section. Either there are diodes on that upright board or they are mounted on the heatsink in the blue box. They will be four identical diodes next to each other.
 
  #9  
Old 08-28-19, 06:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,012
Received 110 Votes on 100 Posts
The two large capacitors beside the blue box are likely the output dc filters. Look for the + and - DC output to be connected to them.
 
  #10  
Old 08-28-19, 06:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Pete,
sorry about that. The item is a wfco ac to dc converter 100 amp unit. model 68100. https://wfcoelectronics.com/product/wf-68100/.

This will not be used as an inverter, but rather a converter or step down. So my cars factory IMA system charges the 100v battery and via dc to dc converter,steps down the 100v dc to 13.6-14.5v to charge lv 12v system. now i would be using the converter and bypassing the rectifier and continuing the circuit from that point on. The unit functions on as little as 105vac per website and confirmed by WFCO tech support. Here's the article regarding similar setup but different converter
 
  #11  
Old 08-28-19, 06:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ill post additional photos in a bit
 
  #12  
Old 08-29-19, 05:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,166
Received 475 Votes on 445 Posts
The unit functions on as little as 105vac
That would seem logical.

However...... 105vAC in yields approx 145vDC after the rectifiers.
You're trying to feed it with 100vDC. That may not fly.

That's not really a converter. That is a high tech three stage battery charger.
The output voltage will vary depending on the output charge.
 
  #13  
Old 08-31-19, 04:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry for the delay. here are the additional pics.
 
Attached Images           
  #14  
Old 08-31-19, 04:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: