Single pole switches with traveler wires

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-21-19, 12:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Single pole switches with traveler wires

I keep coming across interesting problems I can't solve on my own. I have a set of three switches, all old single-pole ones, with push-in wire connectors in addition to screw terminals. This set of three switches have traveler wires in between them, as you can see in the pictures I've uploaded here. Is the correct way to go about replacing those switches pigtailing the incoming wire with three extensions running one to each switch?

Name:  ss1.jpg
Views: 42
Size:  64.9 KB

Name:  ss2.jpg
Views: 38
Size:  72.4 KB

Name:  ss3.jpg
Views: 40
Size:  92.4 KB

Name:  ss4.jpg
Views: 40
Size:  93.8 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-21-19 at 09:45 PM. Reason: cropped/resized monster pictures
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-21-19, 12:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,809
Received 86 Votes on 79 Posts
Get another short black wire to go along with the two you already have. Connect all of them to the two black wires coming out of the wall that are attached to the left and right switch. Then connect one short wire to each switch.
 
  #3  
Old 08-22-19, 07:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, joed, I do have a follow-up question. You say to connect the three short wires to the two black wires coming from the wall. So pigtail all five wires together? That would leave only one wire connected to the switch on the right - just wanting to be sure that's the correct way to go because that seems like it would cut off the circuit since there's no return wire to the breaker box.
 
  #4  
Old 08-22-19, 08:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,809
Received 86 Votes on 79 Posts
So pigtail all five wires together?
Yes

That would leave only one wire connected to the switch on the right -
No. It appears to me as if the right and the left switch both have two wires on one of the terminals. The second wire on both terminals needs to be connected together with the three pigtails. There will be one pigtail and one cable wire on each switch.
 
  #5  
Old 08-26-19, 07:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Success once again! Thanks so much, this worked.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: