Too Many Wires

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-24-19, 12:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Too Many Wires

I'm trying to change some outlets in our house because cords wonít stay plugged in. To my surprise, there are a lot more wires in the box than I expected. The other surprising thing is that none of the outlets are the same.
Thereís one with two red wires,two black merged into one, one ground, and 3 white wires. Iím not sure how to hook them into the new outlets. Iíve tried a few combinations with no luck. Can anyone help?

[img]blob:https://www.doityourself.com/814bfa83-f590-4fb9-b2ac-b24cdb44120d[/img]

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-24-19, 12:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,550
Received 67 Votes on 62 Posts
Hook them up the same as the old ones. Check the old ones for the tab between the gold screws being cut.
 
  #3  
Old 08-24-19, 12:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,892
Received 256 Votes on 241 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your picture link is the location IN your phone where the picture is stored. You need to export it.
Try posting directly to the board...... How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #4  
Old 08-24-19, 05:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
[img]blob:https://www.doityourself.com/1673220d-4b9d-4a02-a673-77d1a936fd4a[/img]
 
  #5  
Old 08-25-19, 04:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trying to attach picture. This is the first outlet. Interestingly, it seems to have impacted the closet on the floor under this room.

Name:  76F1ABF4-C980-463C-8C0B-95C94D38D165.jpg
Views: 50
Size:  9.9 KB

Name:  pic_L.jpg
Views: 35
Size:  19.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-25-19 at 11:13 AM. Reason: added enlarged view
  #6  
Old 08-25-19, 05:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,550
Received 67 Votes on 62 Posts
Check the old ones for the tab between the gold screws being cut.
Were the receptacles half switched?
What exactly is the problem when you connect them? breaker tripping? no power?
How are you connecting them?
Is there two more black in that box? There should be to match the three whites.
 
  #7  
Old 08-26-19, 04:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry. There’s no power. I switched some things around and got power to some outlets in the room, but not others. Had a friend come over and help. I had been using the ports in the back of the outlets to feed the wires. He said to use the screws. That did the trick. There was one we changed to feed into a screw and now all outlets and lights work in the room. Thanks for the replies.
 
  #8  
Old 08-26-19, 05:09 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,550
Received 67 Votes on 62 Posts
Those push in back stab connections are a very common cause of power loss. I recommend never to use them.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: