adding fixture to motion detector circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-26-19, 08:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
adding fixture to motion detector circuit

I have an inexpensive outdoor motion detector light controlled by an outdoor switch. 14 gauge wire runs through EMT between the switch and the fixture. I want to add another fixture between the the two. Please tell me how the wiring will look. Thanks.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-26-19, 09:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,861
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
Run a 14/2 from the existing fixture to the new fixture. connect black to black, white to white and bare ground to bare ground.
 
  #3  
Old 08-26-19, 10:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
clarification

I can't pigtail off the neutral and run a red wire from the PIR-hot connection in the existing light like this?
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 08-26-19, 10:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,861
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
You can't just make connection in the middle of nowhere. They have to be in a junction box. You could cut a junction box into the conduit run and make your connections in there. The red doesn't need to go all the way to the light it can connect to the black same place as the neutral.

Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 23
Size:  62.7 KB
 
  #5  
Old 08-26-19, 04:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Joed, yes, of course, I already put in the junction box. Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 08-26-19, 05:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,511
Received 405 Votes on 381 Posts
The red doesn't need to go all the way to the light it can connect to the black same place as the neutral.
Wrong.
The red must go all the way back to the motion control and fixture which is all the way to the right.
To the PIR (red-switched line)
The black wire is switched inside the house but not motion controlled.
 
  #7  
Old 08-26-19, 06:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJ, that's what I thought. The circuit is switched, but the switch is on all the time, otherwise the PIR wouldn't work. I have a new box in the circuit again, 14 g wire in EMT and I want the NEW light fixture to be controlled by the PIR of the OLD light fixture. So my latest question was 'Do I run a new red wire from the old fixture and pigtail the white in the new box or do I have to run a hot wire AND a neutral all the way from the old box to the new?'
 
  #8  
Old 08-26-19, 06:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,861
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
You are correct. I missed that there was a motion detector in the light. I thought it was only switch controlled.

Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 16
Size:  81.0 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: