240V line w/ two sockets in parallel config

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-05-19, 11:57 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
240V line w/ two sockets in parallel config

I have a main panel on a ext. wall for the Mains hookup. There are several 120 breakers. These service a number of 120v receptacle apparently in parallel configurations.
There are 2 240v breakers - 1 for the stove, the other for the dryer - all single receptacles.The dryer is close to the garage. I want to have a 240v outlet in the garage. Would it be reasonable to add a 240v receptacle / extension to the dryer's line, like the 120s in parallel fashion by passing an additional line from the mains or putting in a subpanel.
Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 09-06-19, 07:22 AM
N
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,743
Received 18 Votes on 16 Posts
Dryers and stoves have a dedicated wire size and breaking current for those devices.
I also believe it is code in most areas to have these appliances on their own feed.
 
  #3  
Old 09-06-19, 07:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,824
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Look at the main panel..... is there room for another double breaker ?
You could just add one for the additional receptacle you want to add.

The range is a 2P50 and the dryer is a 2P30.
What size circuit do you need ?
 
  #4  
Old 09-07-19, 06:30 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,291
Received 109 Votes on 101 Posts
While you could take the circuit from the main panel to the dryer receptacle and put that into a subpanel near the dryer with separate subcircuits to the dryer and the new 240 volt receptacle you want, that choice is probably useless because the line back to th main panel is not heavy enough.

Most 240 volt circuits in the U.S. feed just one receptacle or one tool or appliance or other piece of equipment. Any given piece of equipment has a maximum as well as a minimum amperage for the circuit it is connected to. With this constraint there are very few situations where two pieces of equipment can share the same circuit. Using a subpanel you can have a single somewhat heavier feed using just one pair of slots in the supra panel and break it down into separate circuits with appropriate amperage for the various pieces of equipment.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: