Canít figure out how to disconnect outlet from switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-07-19, 11:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Canít figure out how to disconnect outlet from switch

Hi I have an old house, and I canít figure out the wiring. Iím trying to disconnect an upstairs bathroom outlet from a 3 way switch (so it remains always hot). The outlet has a black wire, a white wire, and a ground wire. The switch has a black wire and two traveler wires. If I disconnect one of the traveler wires I donít have power to the outlet or the light. If I disconnect the other traveler wire I donít have power for my hall or bedrooms. If the hot wire and the two traveler wires are connected to the switch, the outlet turns off when the switch is off. Unfortunately it doesnít appear I can disconnect this bathroom outlet from the switch, does it?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-07-19, 11:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,670
Received 74 Votes on 68 Posts
A three way switch you need to work with both switches. Tell us about all the wires on both switches. You can't just disconnect wires. You need to remove them from the switch and connect them back together without the switch. More details will helpus tell which wires to connect where.
Pictures would be useful.
 
AP123 voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 09-07-19, 11:40 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

A receptacle in a bathroom on a three way switch ? That's pretty rare.
There are only two wires plus ground at the receptacle. Nothing can be done there.

There needs to be more than three wires at each switch. There would need to be splices in those boxes. We can only help you when we know all the wiring that is there. Pics can be very helpful.
How-to-insert-pictures.
 
AP123 voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 09-07-19, 12:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I assumed it was a 3 way switch since it has traveler wires. The switch originally had an outlet attached to it (half switch half always hot outlet), but today I replaced it with a true 3 way switch in another effort to attempt to have the wall outlet remain hot, that is currently controlled by the switch. Please see attached pics of the original switch as well as the 3 way switch I replaced it with. Thanks again

Name:  s1.jpg
Views: 53
Size:  54.0 KB

Name:  s2.jpg
Views: 50
Size:  45.9 KB

Name:  s3.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  33.3 KB

Name:  s4.jpg
Views: 44
Size:  27.5 KB

Name:  s5.jpg
Views: 46
Size:  33.6 KB

Name:  s6.jpg
Views: 49
Size:  36.2 KB

Name:  s7.jpg
Views: 51
Size:  29.6 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-07-19 at 01:25 PM. Reason: reoriented/resized/labeled pictures
  #5  
Old 09-07-19, 01:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
I numbered the pictures as it makes it easier for discussion.

In pic 1 there is a switch/receptacle combo.
Pics 2 and 3 show that wiring.

Did you just want that receptacle with the switch to stay live all the time ?
 
AP123 voted this post useful.
  #6  
Old 09-07-19, 02:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry the previous half-outlet in pic 1 wasnít the problem. Pic 7 is the receptacle that is controlled by the switch in pic 1 and is only usable when the light is on. I have been trying to figure out how to get the receptacle in pic 7 to stay hot when the light switch is off. The receptacle only has two wires (black, white, and ground), the switch has a hot wire and two traveler wires. One traveler wire, at the switch, powers my bedrooms and hall. The other traveler wire powers both the brown receptacle (in pic 7) and the light.
 
  #7  
Old 09-07-19, 03:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
Ok...... but there are two switches in the first picture.

You cannot change the wiring at either three way switch IF those switches control the lights also.
We need to locate the point where the two wire cable feeding the receptacle connects to the light.

Based on picture 7...... it would make perfect sense that the receptacle is connected to the light right above it. If that guess is correct...... you cannot change how the receptacle operates.
 
AP123 voted this post useful.
  #8  
Old 09-08-19, 05:20 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,909
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
You do not have travellers like a 3 way switch. You have power in, power out and the switched hot. Unless the cable going to the receptacle is in the same box as the constant hot you will need to rewire.
 
AP123 voted this post useful.
  #9  
Old 09-08-19, 10:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 125
Received 17 Votes on 16 Posts
One option might be to connect the light circuit/outlet with a constant hot wire, and then use a smart bulb like a Philips Hue with the wireless battery-powered switch/dimmer:

https://www.amazon.com/Philips-Hue-Installation-Free-Exclusive-Assistant/dp/B016AEHU70

I don't think you need a bridge or hub if you only need to control one bulb. You would have to make sure that the smart bulb selected fits into your light fixture (i.e., there is sufficient room for it).
​​
 
AP123 voted this post useful.
  #10  
Old 09-09-19, 06:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. The smart bulb might actually be a workable solution. I hadn't considered that yet. Any thoughts on how I could best remove the three wires from the switch shown in the pictures and connect them all together so everything is constantly hot (which I could then control with a smart bulb and smart switch)? Also, is it safe/ok to have a light fixture be connected to a constantly hot wire even if the smart bulb is turned off when not in use?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: