How to cap live wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-10-19, 01:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to cap live wire

Hello! Upon the inspection of our new home the inspector noticed a live wire that needed to be capped and boxed. He said itís an easy fix. I was hoping I could get a step by step answer as I will be attempting this myself (very little DIY experience) I figure I will be turning off the breaker, using a nut to cap the wire, and then installing a junction box with cover. I was also wondering if itís ok that the capped and tapped wire touch in the box? Thanks sooo much for any input and suggestions on this
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-10-19, 01:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,031
Received 57 Votes on 52 Posts
Welcome. Is this a single wire, or is it a cable with more than one wire? Where is it located in your house? Do you know what the intent of it was? Typically you don't find wire or cables just popping through a wall or whatever.
 
  #3  
Old 09-10-19, 05:24 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,919
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Wirenuts in an accessible junction box are fine. No need to worry about touching the box. The caps are insulated.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: