afci circuit breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-10-19, 04:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
afci circuit breaker

I replaced a 15 amp circuit breaker with a 15 amp afci circuit breaker that controls the ceiling lights and is controlled by two switches. I flipped the breaker on and it immediately tripped out. I removed all the light bulbs from the circuit and the new breaker didn't trip. As soon as I put one light bulb in its socket the breaker trips. I had no problem with the standard breaker before. Why is this. Thank you. James
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-10-19, 04:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,668
Received 74 Votes on 68 Posts
Possible ground neutral interconnection.
Does it trip with the bulb just installed or does it need to be on for the trip to occur?
 
  #3  
Old 09-10-19, 04:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,149
Received 21 Votes on 17 Posts
Does the afci breaker you have also provide ground fault protection?
See this... https://www.jadelearning.com/combina...rcuit-breaker/
 
Astuff voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 09-10-19, 04:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I flip the afci breaker on with no load. Then I put in its socket ne light bulb
 
  #5  
Old 09-10-19, 04:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The afci breaker is in on position. I put one light bulb in its socket and when i turn the switch on the breaker trips
 
  #6  
Old 09-10-19, 04:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No it is only a 15 amp afci circuit breaker
 
  #7  
Old 09-10-19, 05:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,320
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Describe the light bulb. If not incandescent, try one.
 
  #8  
Old 09-11-19, 03:15 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 53 Votes on 46 Posts
The circuit might be part of a multi-wire circuit which will not work on a single pole AFCI.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: