Running SER unsheathed in a finished space

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-14-19, 02:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running SER unsheathed in a finished space

Hi all,

Just wondering if SER must be sheathed all the way into the panel. I'm rewiring my currently as I'm refinishing my basement. Installing a new main panel in the basement. I will be installing a 200A service disconnect/ meter socket at the drop. I know I must run conduit to the point of entry, which will be a crawl space.

As the main will be technically a sub, I'm running 4/0,4/0,4/0,2/0 SER from the disconnect. The new panel will be in a finished space. But to get into the panel, a tight bend need to happen behind a joist. Can SER be unsheathed and out of conduit indoors, if in a finished space?

Thanks in advance
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-14-19, 02:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Picture for clarity, can the SER be unsheathed at the joist, prior to the penetration to drop into the panel?

Name:  p1.jpg
Views: 16
Size:  76.3 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-15-19 at 06:59 PM. Reason: reoriented/resized picture
  #3  
Old 09-14-19, 02:26 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 54 Votes on 47 Posts
No. A jacketed cable is required to have the overall jacket the entire length, including if it is run in conduit. The only place the jacket can be removed is inside an enclosure/box.

To make the bend you will have to drill a good-sized hole.
 
Gingeriffik voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 09-14-19, 03:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks! That's what I was wondering.

Can it be ran all the way (in finished space) without conduit (jacket intact)?
 
  #5  
Old 09-14-19, 04:01 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 54 Votes on 47 Posts
Yes, SER is rated to be run indoors through joist and stud spaces.
 
Gingeriffik voted this post useful.
  #6  
Old 09-14-19, 06:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks again! Really appreciate the clarification.
 
  #7  
Old 09-15-19, 07:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,689
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
You will need large holes to run that cable thru joists.
It is recommended to use nail plates anywhere a screw could catch that cable.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: