Not as easy as it looks for a novice

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-14-19, 03:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not as easy as it looks for a novice

Dad always said, if you don't know, ask. Please take a look and give your opinion.

Name:  diagram.JPG
Views: 48
Size:  77.6 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-15-19 at 01:49 PM. Reason: imported diagram
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-14-19, 04:11 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 54 Votes on 47 Posts
The first main breaker is the only place the ground and neutrals are connected together. Everything after that is a sub panel and needs 4 conductors run in the feeder.

I would install ground rods at the main panel and the disconnect panel of the mobile home. The panel inside the mobile home I would not install a rod as you should be able to connect to the same rod as the disconnect.
 
carolina jim voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 09-14-19, 04:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you so much! That will solve my situation. Now maybe we can move in. This has been a 10 year project with all the different things that needed doing.
 
  #4  
Old 09-15-19, 05:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,331
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
You have 6 breakers feeding 6 breakers?
something missing in the diagram?
 
  #5  
Old 09-15-19, 11:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The first main used to supply original home. Using same box w/o moving pole. Just running new triplex to a pedestal for a junction instead of splicing. Wire wasn't long enough.Can also suppl A/C unit and air comp. as a sub panel. New mobile home is the last sub panel.
All are 200 amp mains.
 
  #6  
Old 09-15-19, 01:10 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 54 Votes on 47 Posts
Just running new triplex to a pedestal for a junction instead of splicing
As mentioned, you need 4 conductors so you need to use quadplex.
 
  #7  
Old 09-15-19, 01:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Triplex with #6 copper strand. Is that O.K?. My brother is a lineman for the local power company and supplied the triplex and I bought it from the utility..He sometimes needs to be checked up behind him. He has me bonded in the pedestal.
 
  #8  
Old 09-15-19, 01:22 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 54 Votes on 47 Posts
Triplex with #6 copper strand. Is that O.K?
Yes.
-----------------------------------------------
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: