Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Can I use Single pole and 3-way AC light switches with DC current?

Can I use Single pole and 3-way AC light switches with DC current?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-15-19, 07:02 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I use Single pole and 3-way AC light switches with DC current?

I have an off-grid cabin powered with solar panels and DC current.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-15-19, 09:26 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,567
Received 251 Votes on 221 Posts
How many volts and amps will the switches be switching?
Normal AC switches do not have a DC rating. They will likely work fine but if you try switching too much current the contacts could burn up quickly.
 
  #3  
Old 09-15-19, 09:49 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,628
Received 42 Votes on 41 Posts
Expect a 10 to 1 reduction in current breaking rating, with voltages exceeding 48V dc. Even worse with inductive loads. There are some tricks to improve dc performance, but not commonly done, since they will make the switch polarity sensitive.
 
Furd voted this post useful.
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: