Can I swap a 4 prong dryer plug for a 3 prong plug?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-18-19, 11:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I swap a 4 prong dryer plug for a 3 prong plug?

New dryer has 4 prongs, new older home has a 3 prong receptacle and I can't afford $1,000 to have the 3 converted to a 4. Looking for alternatives. Heard it was safe to take dryer back to a 3 prong cord and plug. Can anyone share your expertise and let me know if I'm on the right track here?

Thank you for your help.
 

Last edited by pdstorace; 09-18-19 at 11:22 AM. Reason: Added a few lines
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-18-19, 11:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,810
Received 87 Votes on 80 Posts
Your dryer manual will have the direction for installing a three prong plug/cord.
Yes it is safe.

If you haven't already done it I would first check the wiring in the dryer receptacle and see if it has four wires and can be converted to a four prong receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 09-19-19, 10:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,210
Received 379 Votes on 356 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Heard it was safe to take dryer back to a 3 prong cord and plug.
At one time it was code acceptable. Is it safe....... yes and no. As long as all three wires coming from the panel remain connected.... it's safe. If the neutral should open..... it's no longer safe.

This is the main reason for switching appliances over to 4 wires..... a safety ground.

Your dryer should have listed the 4 to 3 wire conversion in the manual.
If not.... post the model number for detailed help.
 
  #4  
Old 09-19-19, 11:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 381
Received 34 Votes on 33 Posts
Yes you can.

The only difference is that you have to connect the dryer's frame/body to the white Neutral.
Often there is already a ground strap in the unit but it will be disconnected and the earth ground wire of the 4 prong line cord connects to the frame.
 
  #5  
Old 09-20-19, 09:27 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,051
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
New dryer has 4 prongs

New electric dryers and ranges do not come with a cord of any type (never have), someone had to make the call to install a 4-wire cord/plug. If by new you meant you just purchased a brand new dryer, I'd call the appliance dealer back and tell them they have a problem, it should be their responsibility to change the dryer back to a 3-wire cord/plug.
 
  #6  
Old 10-02-19, 08:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Was able to get 4 prong dryer down to a 3 and it's working

Thank you for the responses, they were very helpful. I was able to take the dryer back to a 3 prong cord and ground it with the white neutral wire. A little nervous on the first run, but all went smoothly.

I appreciate those of you who took time to offer your expertise and advise.

Thank you.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: